Call Number: REF ML106.U3 A5 1980 in the Music Library
Though dated, the 4th edition provides brief biographical information for composers and lyricists who are not often listed elsewhere (especially noted for its coverage of lesser-known lyricists). Previous editions are located in Ablah library, 2nd floor circulating collection.
Call Number: REF ML102.J3 F75 2010 in the Music Library
This work provides illuminating, opinionated essays--provocative, funny, and personal--on the lives and careers of more than three hundred singers, anatomizing the work of the most important jazz and popular performers of the twentieth century.
From 1969, this is a biographical dictionary of those who play or have played the blues. Though dated, many entries are not found in other resources. Also find here song lists as well as black and white photos.
In 4 volumes, this work provides biographical information and some other useful reference tools, covering the first half of the twentieth century. Volume 1 presents a listing of musicals, songs, and representative recordings, year-by-year. Volumes 2 and 3 provide brief biographical entries with song credits where applicable and discographies. The 4th volume presents awards information, numerical lists of records labels and an index.
Volumes 3 and 4 of the The Encyclopedia of More Great Popular Song Recordings provides the stories behind approximately 1,700 more of the greatest song recordings in the history of the music industry, from 1890 to today. In this masterful survey, all genres of popular music are covered, from pop, rock, soul, and country to jazz, blues, classic vocals, hip-hop, folk, gospel, and ethnic/world music.
Call Number: ref ML102.P66 G84 1998 in the Music Library
n 8 volumes, this work is an extensive compilation of biographical articles on groups and artists in popular music (jazz musicians are also entered here). The latest edition is located in the music library, while the 2nd edition lives in Ablah Library, 2nd floor, available for checking out.
Call Number: REF ML102.B6 H39 1992 in Music Library
Publication Date: 1992-11-01
Mainly biographical entries, with an occasional term, this work is made extra handy by the inclusion of a bibliography, selective discography, listing of blues standards and a listing of artists by instrument. This also contains a notable number of black and white photos.
Call Number: REF ML102.J3 J46 2004 in Music Library
Reviled by most critics and jazz fans in its nascence, and still highly misunderstood today, free jazz eventually had a profound influence on subsequent developments in jazz and rock, forever changing the musical landscape. This encyclopedia of free music reflects upon the personalities, styles, organizations, philosophy and politics of a musical form to which too little prior attention has been devoted. In 2 volumes.
The Historical Dictionary of Jazz covers the history of Jazz through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,500 cross-referenced entries on significant jazz performers, band leaders, bands, venues, record labels, recordings, and the different styles of jazz.
Call Number: REF ML102.J34 C66 2005 in Music Library
Whether you're trying to find out why Louis Armstrong was called Satchmo (his nickname as a kid was Satchelmouth), what bebop is, or the difference between Gil Evans and Bill Evans - this book is a good place to look.
This comprehensive guide offers an illuminating look at more than 250 seminal jazz compositions. Here are the songs that sit at the heart of the jazz repertoire. Included are Broadway show tunes written by such greats as George Gershwin and Irving Berlin, and classics by such famed jazz musicians as Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, and John Coltrane.The book offers vibrant discussions of each song, packed with information about how the song was written, who recorded it, the song's place in jazz history, and much more.
Call Number: ONLINE and REF ML102.J3 N48 2001 in Music Library
The primary encyclopedia devoted to jazz, this 4 volume work is available electronically within Grove Music Online. This is a good starting place for research in jazz. Like other Grove produces, the bibliographies found at the ends of articles are particularly helpful. The latest print edition is located in the Music Library.