LibGuides: DH 334: Evidence-Based Practice: Finding articles

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

Wolfgang Greller. (2006, Jan. 25). eLearn_2006_38. Retrieved from https://www.flickr.com/photos/wgreller/260560236. Used under the Creative Commons License.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 5,300 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains records dating back to 1937. It covers the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. 30 simultaneous users
Terms of Use

CINAHL Tutorial
This print tutorial shows and explains how to access and search in the CINAHL database.

Additional databases

Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A compendium of current drug information to assist in improving outcomes and streamlining workflow.
Terms of Use
To start using the new Clinical Pharmacology app from your mobile device, please check out this guide.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, methods, studies, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
Terms of Use

Films on Demand: Health and Medicine Video Collection
Videos on diseases, disorders and disabilities; health care and treatment; health careers; human anatomy and physiology; nutrition; personal health and wellness; and public health.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Medicine

Health & Wellness Resource Center (with Alternative Health Module) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from health/medical journals, general interest periodicals, pamphlets, videos, and reference encyclopedias and directories. Also includes links to health assessment sites and government databases. Coverage: 1980-present.
Terms of Use
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in more than 800 journals covering nursing, allied health, alternative medicine, etc. Full-text access to over 700 journal titles and 12,000 dissertations. Coverage: 1986-present.
Terms of Use
Click here to browse a list of video training resources.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text from thousands of biomedical journals published worldwide in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1966-present.

PubMed Clinical Queries

Results of searches on this page are limited to specific clinical research areas.* Results of clinical searches care returned in three columns:

Clinical Study Categories: This column displays citations filtered to a specific clinical study category and scope. See more filter information.
Systematic Reviews: This column displays citations for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines. See filter information or additional related sources.
Medical Genetics: This column displays citations pertaining to topics in medical genetics. See more filter information.

* For comprehensive searches, use PubMed directly, listed in the box above

DH 334: Evidence-Based Practice

Article database search strategies

Your Librarian

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

Additional databases

PubMed Clinical Queries

PubMed Clinical Queries