LibGuides: Comics and Graphic Novels: Criticism and Theory

Criticism and Theory (Select Titles)

All of the Marvels: a journey to the ends of the biggest story ever told by Douglas Wolk
Call Number: PN6725 .W64 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Anatomy of Comics: famous originals of narrative art by Damien MacDonald
Call Number: PN6710 .M259 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Black Images in the Comics: a visual history by Fredrik Stromberg; Charles R. Johnson (Introduction by)
Call Number: NC1355 .S77 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Comics As a Nexus of Cultures: essays on the interplay of media, disciplines and international perspectives by Mark Berninger (Editor); Jochen Ecke (Editor); Gideon Haberkorn (Editor)
Call Number: PN6714 .C6515 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Comic Books and American Cultural History by Matthew Pustz (Editor)
Call Number: LB1044.9.C59 C645 2012
Publication Date: 2012
A Comics Studies Reader by Jeet Heer (Editor); Kent Worcester (Editor)
Call Number: PN6710 .C667 2009
Publication Date: 2008
Comics Studies: a guidebook by Charles Hatfield (Editor); Bart Beaty (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Empirical Approaches to Comics Research: digital, multimodal, and cognitive methods by Alexander Dunst (Editor); Jochen Laubrock (Editor); Janina Wildfeuer (Editor)
Call Number: PN6714 .E48 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Comic Book Studies by Frederick Luis Aldama (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
The Routledge Companion to Gender and Sexuality in Comic Book Studies by Frederick Luis Aldama (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Understanding Comics: the invisible art by Scott McCloud
Call Number: PN6710 .M335 1994
Publication Date: 1994

Dreaming the Graphic Novel: the novelization of comics by Paul Williams
Call Number: PN6710 .W55 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Holocaust Graphic Narratives: generation, trauma, and memory by Victoria Aarons
Call Number: PN56.H55 A238 2020
Publication Date: 2019
On the Graphic Novel by Santiago García; Bruce Campbell (Translator)
Publication Date: 2015
Studying Comics and Graphic Novels by Karin Kukkonen
Publication Date: 2013
Will Eisner: champion of the graphic novel by Paul Levitz; Brad Meltzer (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9781613128640
Publication Date: 2015
Wordless Books: the original graphic novels by David A. Beronä; Peter Kuper (Introduction by)
Call Number: NE1095 .B47 2008
Publication Date: 2008

The American Superhero: encyclopedia of caped crusaders in history by Richard A. Hall
Publication Date: 2019
Champions of the Oppressed?: superhero comics, popular culture, and propaganda in America during World War II by Christopher Murray
Call Number: D744.7.U6 M87 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Death, Disability, and the Superhero by Jose Alaniz
Publication Date: 2014
The Evolution of the Costumed Avenger: the 4,000-Year History of the Superhero by Jess Nevins
Publication Date: 2017
Panthers, Hulks and Ironhearts: Marvel, diversity, and the twenty-first-century superhero by Jeffrey A. Brown
Call Number: PN6714 .B76 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Superhero Bodies: identity, materiality, transformation by Wendy Haslem; Elizabeth MacFarlane; Sarah Richardson
Call Number: PN6714 .S85 2019
Publication Date: 2018
Superhero Culture Wars: politics, marketing, and social justice in Marvel Comics by Monica Flegel; Judith Leggatt
Call Number: PN6714 .F545 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Unstable Masks: whiteness and American superhero comics by Sean Guynes (Editor); Martin Lund (Editor); Frederick Luis Aldama (Foreword by); Noah Berlatsky (Afterword by)
Call Number: PN6725 .U485 2020
Publication Date: 2020

Finding Articles

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For Optimal Performance, use Firefox or Edge. Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1963. Special features include the full text of the original article for some citations and a collection of images consisting of photographs, maps, and flags.
Terms of Use
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. 5 simultaneous users Terms of Use

Comics and Graphic Novels

Related Subject Headings

Academic Networking

Criticism and Theory (Select Titles)

Finding Articles