Skip to Main Content 
- Find one article from your syllabus in JSTOR.
- Try out the Text Analyzer
- ​Hint: JSTOR is linked from Research Databases on the left. Use the advanced search filter by discipline to limit your search to History. Once you're in JSTOR, you'll see the Text Analyzer on the main page. Paste an abstract, several keywords, or other text into the Analyzer to search for similar content in JSTOR.
- Use the Library Catalog, Library Guide, etc. to find the Journal of American History.
- What years are not covered by the library?
- Hint: The quickest way to find a journal is type the title--in quotes--into SmartSearch or the Library Catalog and search by Title. SmartSearch and the Catalog are available on the Library home page. Keep clicking until you see a link called "Click here for available full text of this journal." You'll notice that we have no electronic copies of the Journal for the last year, or prior to 1964. There are also a handful of print copies from 1907-1919 in compact shelving (library storage-ask at circulation desk).
- What is the name of one book that shares a subject with one of your text books?
- Do you think the books are close together in the stacks?
- Hint: Navigate to Books on the left, click on one of the titles, then click on one of the subjects to find other books on that subject.
- Pick one Primary Source Database.
- Find one item of interest.
- Note any useful (or challenging) features.
- Hint: Each database has special features -- it's not usually possible to search more than one database at a time.
- Pick one Newspaper Database.
- Find one item of interest.
- Note any useful (or challenging) features.
- Hint: Newspaper Databases contain hundreds of Newspapers in a single database. They can be text only or images of full newspaper pages. Searching can be complex -- ask for help if you need it!
- Use the Library Catalog, Library Guide, etc. to find the Christian Science Monitor, the Wichita Eagle, or the New York Times.
- What years are not covered by the library?
- What database(s) offer this newspaper.
- What view(s) are available--full text, image, ads?
- Hint: Newspaper Databases contain hundreds of Newspapers in a single database. They can be text only or images of full newspaper pages. Sometimes newspapers are only available on microfilm. If we don't have the microfilm here, you can request it via ILL. Newspaper searching can be complex -- ask for help if you need it!
