LibGuides: WSU 102 Honors Elections: Other Background Information

General sources and Websites

The Routledge handbook of elections, voting behavior and public opinion by Justin Fisher, et. al.
ISBN: 1317494814
Publication Date: 2018
Guide to U. S. Elections by Deborah S. Kalb (Editor, Editor)
ISBN: 9781483380360
Publication Date: 2016-01-12
*As mentioned in The Washington Post!The CQ Press Guide to U.S. Elections, Seventh Edition is a comprehensive, two-volume reference providing information on the U.S. electoral process, in-depth analysis on specific political eras and issues, and everything in between. Thoroughly revised and infused with new data, analysis, and discussion of issues relating to elections through 2015, the Guide will include chapters on: Analysis of the campaigns for presidency, from the primaries through the general election Data on the candidates, winners/losers, and election returns Details on congressional and gubernatorial contests from the primaries through the general elections supplemented with vast historical data Coverage of campaign finance, as well as reapportionment and redistricting Key Features include: Tables, boxes and figures interspersed throughout each chapter Data on campaigns, election methods, and results Complete lists of House and Senate leaders Links to election-related websites A guide to party abbreviations This reference will be available in time for readers to gain an understanding of various aspects of elections as we enter the 2016 presidential campaign season.

General

Almanac of American Politics. Annual. 1974-
Washington, D.C.: National Journal Inc.
Link or WSU Libraries Catalog Call No. JK1012 .A44
Particularly useful for the state-by-state, district-by-district analysis and commentary.

American Presidency Project
Hosted by the University of California Santa Barbara, site includes acceptance speeches, presidential candidates debates, party platforms, elections data, and an audio/video archive.

The American Voting Experience: Report and Recommendations of the Presidential Commission on Election Administration,” (January 2014)
Prepared by the Presidential Commission on Election Administration as a result of Executive Order 13639, which established the Commission and defined its mission to "identify best practices and otherwise make recommendations to promote the efficient administration of elections in order to ensure that all eligible voters have the opportunity to cast their ballots without undue delay, and to improve the experience of voters facing other obstacles in casting their ballots, such as members of the military, overseas voters, voters with disabilities, and voters with limited English proficiency." This report is the product of this Commission's findings.

The Campaign Legal Center is “a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that defends and protects our democracy in the areas of campaign finance, voting rights, political communication and government ethics.”

Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report
A comprehensive legislative information system, provided by Congressional Quarterly.
Provides access to full text of: Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report. 1969-
Link or WSU Libraries Catalog Call No. JK1 .C512

Congressional Research Service Reports
Search for the full text, 1916-present. Recommended keywords: "campaign finance", "elections"

CQ Campaigns and Elections Collection
Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789. Election data can be downloaded.

Database of Election Reform Legislation
A sophisticated database which allow searching by state for election reform legislation by specific subtopics, 2011-present, from the National Conference of State Legislatures.

FairVote: Center for Voting and Democracy
A non-profit non-partisan educational organization which says: "FairVote advances systemic electoral reform to achieve a fully participatory and truly representative democracy that respects every vote and every voice in every election. We work toward these goals by providing advocates with innovative research and reform strategy. We promote ranked choice voting ("instant runoff"), a constitutionally protected right to vote, a national popular vote for president, and, most fundamentally, fair representation voting forms of proportional representation."

Government Accountability Office
An independent, non-partisan agency that works for Congress to ensure the accountability of the government for the benefit of all U.S. citizens. Recommended keywords: "elections", "Voters"

opensecrets.org
Opensecrets.org, the web site for the Center for Responsive Politics, is a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. "tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy." The Center "aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government." The Center's databases (Politicians & Elections, Influence & Lobbying) are available for searching at its site.

Public Citizen
A national, nonprofit consumer advocacy organization created to represent consumer citizen interests in Congress, the executive branch and the courts.

Tax Information for Political Organizations
Prepared for the Internal Revenue Service, this website outlines the federal fiscal and reporting requirements of political parties, campaign committees, and political action committees, including the release of the names of donors. Issue-oriented social welfare groups formed under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(4) also can engage in advocacy and are not required to reveal donor names.