Digital archive of sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Subjects include economics and trade, government, health, historic events, labor, languages, law and crime, literature, military, peoples, philosophy, politics, religion, science and technology, society, manners and customs, and theology.
This database provides a core of primary source documents for the study of Kansas history, packaged with an engaging user interface that provides students and researchers multiple ways of accessing the content. With state and regional histories, travel guides, biographies, speeches and more, the collection provides a range sources.
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
A comprehensive collection of American periodicals documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1691-1877). These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry & professions, religious issues, culture, the arts, and more.
Series 1: (1691-1820) Covers early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic. Series 2: (1821-1837) The subject matter represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, & politics. Series 3: (1838-1852) The themes in this series reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences,and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion. Series 4: (1853-1865) While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans-both leading up to and during the war- is captured. This series includes news from the battlefront. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion. Series 5: (1866-1877) The themes reflect a nation that persevered through the Civil War, the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion.