Library Resources: Art - Architecture - Costume - Interiors/Decoration/Ornament - THEA 285: Period Styles

Selected Library Resources

Search in the WSU Online Catalog for some of these helpful Subject Headings:

Art--History
Art movements

To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/.

Instruction for Placing a Hold through the Library Catalog

Art in Time by Robert Shane; Sarah Symmons; Monica Kjellman-Chapin; Matthew McKelway; Gauvin Alexander Bailey; Alistair Rider; Phaidon Press Editors
Call Number: N5303 .A755 2014
ISBN: 9780714867373
A guide to 150 of the most significant styles and movements that have shaped art history through time.
30,000 Years of Art by Amanda Renshaw; John Powner (Designed by); Phaidon Editors
Call Number: N5300 .A14 2015
ISBN: 9780714870090
30,000 Years of Art is an accessible, chronological introduction to art history from 28,000 BC to the present day. Providing a truly global and comprehensive perspective, 30,000 Years of Art charts a course through art history that tracks seminal and lesser known works in all of the fields of both the fine and decorative arts.
Gardner's Art Through the Ages by Fred S. Kleiner
Call Number: N5300 .G25 2016
ISBN: 9781285754994
One of the most widely read art history titles in the English language. Heavily illustrated.

Search in the WSU Online Catalog for some of these helpful Subject Headings:

Architecture--History
Architecture and History
Architecture and Society
Architecture Dictionaries

To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/.

Instruction for Placing a Hold through the Library Catalog

A History of Western Architecture by David Watkin
Call Number: NA200 .W34 2011
ISBN: 9781856697903
Publication Date: 2011-09-21
Here is a highly illustrated history of western architecture from the earliest times in Mesopotamia and Egypt to the eclectic styles of the twenty-first century.
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture by James Stevens Curl; Susan Wilson
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780199674985
Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to Zwinger and written in a clear and concise style, this authoritative dictionary covers architectural history in detail, from ancient times to the present day. It also includes concise biographies of hundreds of architects from history The text is complemented by over 260 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical building features, making it easy for readers to identify particular period styles.
People and Spaces by Anita Abramovitz; Susannah Kelly (Illustrator)
Call Number: 0670547050
ISBN: 0670547050
History of Architecture by Banister Fletcher; James C. Palmes (Editor)
Call Number: NA200.F61 H6 1975
ISBN: 0684142074
A Visual Dictionary of Architecture by Francis D. K. Ching
Call Number: NA31 .C44 1995
ISBN: 0442009046
This compendium uses a combination of textual definitions and hundreds of superb line drawings to illuminate a comprehensive body of essential terms in architecture, including important interrelationships between building components.
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction by Cyril M. Harris
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780071452373
Publication Date: 2005-09-05
This classic dictionary features nearly 25,000 definitions and 2,500 illustrations.

Search in the WSU Online Catalog for some of these helpful Subject Headings:

Children's Clothing
Clothing and dress
Costume
Dress Accessories
Ethnic Costume
Men's Clothing
Women's Clothing

To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/.

Instruction for Placing a Hold through the Library Catalog

The Chronicle of Western Costume by John Peacock
Call Number: GT511 .P42 2010
ISBN: 9780500284476
With more than one thousand full-color illustrations, this is the history of Western fashion, from ancient Egypt to twentieth-century Paris. The volume is organized in chronological sections, and accompanied by detailed descriptions of each figure, including the individual items of costume shown and the many types of fabric, cut, pattern, and color that have been used over the centuries. Also included is an illustrated glossary with additional information on technical terms.
The Complete Costume Dictionary by Elizabeth J. Lewandowski
Call Number: ONLINE and REF GT507 .L49 2011
ISBN: 9780810840041
Including more than 20,000 fashion and costume terms, this volume also features more than 300 illustrations. The first section of the book is an alphabetical listing of these words with their definitions, period, and country of origin. This volume also contains appendixes that list the terms by country of origin, period, and type of clothing. The book is not limited to the Western World and includes both archaic and current terms.
Costume in Performance by Donatella Barbieri
Call Number: PN2067 .B23 2017
ISBN: 9780857855107
Costume is explored in six thematic chapters, examining the transformative ritual of costuming; choruses as reflective of society; the grotesque, transgressive costume; the female sublime as emancipation; costume as sculptural art in motion; and the here-and-now as history. Viewing the material costume as a crucial aspect in the preparation, presentation and reception of live performance, the book brings together costumed performances through history. These range from ancient Greece to modern experimental productions, from medieval theatre to modernist dance, from the 'fashion plays' to contemporary Shakespeare, marking developments in both culture and performance.
A Dictionary of Costume and Fashion by Mary Brooks Picken
Call Number: TT503 .P49 1999
ISBN: 0486402940
Here are defined over 10,000 words associated with wearing apparel and fashion. From bateau necklines to trilbys and vamps, individual terms are assembled alphabetically in groups according to dress parts, fabrics, and other style categories. Included are over 750 clearly detailed illustrations.
The Dictionary of Fashion History by C. W. Cunnington; P. E. Cunnington; Valerie Cumming
Call Number: GT507 .C86 2010
ISBN: 9781847885340
What is an earthquake gown? - Who wore eelskin masher trousers? - What did the word "dudes" mean in the 16th century? This is a great place to find the answers to these and other fashion-related questions.
Survey of Historic Costume by Phyllis G. Tortora; Sara B. Marcketti
Call Number: GT580 .T67 2015
ISBN: 9781628921670
This is an introduction to Western dress from the ancient world through the twenty-first century. Each chapter presents social, cross-cultural, environmental, geographic, and artistic influences on clothing with visuals, illustrated tables, and in-depth discussions.
World Clothing and Fashion : an Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence by Snodgrass, Mary Ellen
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780765683014
Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewellery) for men, women, and children.Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes - from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration - are examined.

Search in the WSU Online Catalog for some of these helpful Subject Headings:

Decorative Arts
Decoration and Ornament
Furniture
Furniture--History
Interior Architecture
Interior Decoration

To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/.

Instruction for Placing a Hold through the Library Catalog

8000 Years of Ornament by Wilson, Eva
Call Number: NK1530 .W55 1994
Designs based on plant, animal and human forms, as well as geometric motifs, recur in all cultures and all periods. This handbook analyzes and explains, with 600 line drawings, the most important decorative motifs from prehistory to the early 1990s.
Architecture and Interior Design by Victoria K. Ball
Call Number: NA200 .B15
ISBN: 0471051624
Encyclopedia of Interior Design by Joanna Banham (Editor)
Call Number: NK1165 .E48 1997
ISBN: 1884964192
A 2 volume encyclopedia of interior design.
Encyclopedia of Ornament by Albert Racinet
Call Number: NK1530 .R32 1988
ISBN: 0517662973
More than 2000 examples of ancient, oriental, medieval and later ornaments are faithfully reproduced in this book. With one hundred full-color plates it presents a collection of ornamental designs, from the spiritualistic and essentially symbolic art of the ancient Egyptians to the sensual, extravagant, and highly mannered compositions of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
History of Design by Pat Kirkham (Editor); Susan Weber (Editor); Bard Graduate Center Staff (Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: NK600 .H57 2013
ISBN: 9780300196146
Spanning six centuries of global design, this far-reaching survey offers an account of the vast history of decorative arts and design produced in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Indian subcontinent, and the Islamic world, from 1400 to the present. Meticulously documented and lavishly illustrated, the volume covers interiors, furniture, textiles and dress, glass, graphics, metalwork, ceramics, exhibitions, product design, landscape and garden design, and theater and film design. Divided into four chronological sections, each of which is subdivided geographically, the authors elucidate the evolution of style, form, materials, and techniques, and address vital issues such as gender, race, patronage, cultural appropriation, continuity versus innovation, and high versus low culture.
The History of Furniture by John Morley
Call Number: Folio NK2270 .M64 1999
ISBN: 082122624X
Surveying the development of furniture from antiquity to the present day, John Morley discusses the Western tradition and includes the outside influences of China, Japan, India, Egypt, and Africa. The more than 600 illustrations not only include photographs and drawings of the furniture itself but also highlight the furniture's links to architecture and the fine arts.
History of Interior Design by Jeannie Ireland
Call Number: NK1710 .I74 2009
ISBN: 9781563674624
History of Interior Design is a comprehensive survey covering the design history of architecture, interiors, furniture, and accessories in civilizations all over the world, from ancient times to the present. Although the primary focus is on Western civilizations, it also explores Eastern design history. Each chapter begins with background information about the social and cultural context and technical innovations of the period and place, and shows their impact on interior design motifs. Throughout the text, influences of the styles and design solutions of one culture on others are highlighted, demonstrating how interior design has evolved as a continuing exchange of ideas.
History of Interior Design by John Pile; Judith Gura
Call Number: NK1710 .P55 2014
ISBN: 9781118403518
This classic reference presents the history of interior design from prehistory to the present. Exploring a broad range of design styles and movements, this includes coverage of non-Western design and vernacular interior architecture and features 665 photographs and drawings (color and black-and-white). A History of Interior Design is an essential resource for practicing and aspiring professionals in interior design, art history, and architecture, and general readers interested in design and the decorative arts.
An Illustrated History of Furnishing, from the Renaissance to the 20th Century by Praz, Mario
Call Number: NK1860 .P713
Interior Design since 1900 by Anne Massey
Call Number: NK1980 .M3 2008
ISBN: 9780500203972
From the nineteenth-century Arts and Crafts movement to the present day--from Art Nouveau, Bauhaus, the Modern Movement, and Art Deco to High-Tech and green design--every style of interior design since 1900 is charted in this wide-ranging survey. Design in the twentieth century saw many changes in direction, including the emergence of professional "interior decoration" and its evolution into interior design. Interiors, domestic and other, are explored and placed within their social, political, economic, and cultural context.
Key Interiors Since 1900 by Graeme Brooker
Call Number: ONLINE and NA2850 .B758 2013
ISBN: 9781780672687
This book defines the history of modern interior design through the reuse of existing buildings. This approach allows the history of the interior to be viewed as separate from the history of architecture and instead enables the interior to develop its own historical narrative. Note that the online edition does not display images.
Language of Ornament by James Trilling
Call Number: NK1175 .T549 2001
ISBN: 0500203431
Trilling analyzes the historical importance of ornament across the world, whether in the monumental architecture of Mycenean Greece or the inlaid vessels of Zhou Dynasty China, in the bronze mirrors of early Celtic Britain, or the carved and woven ornament of Native Americans. An impressive variety of ornament from the paleolithic age to the present day enables the reader to appreciate both its inherent form and beauty.
The Renaissance and Mannerism in Europe by Alain Gruber (Editor); John Goodman (Translator); Margherita Azzi-Visentini (Contribution by); Jacques Thuillier (Preface by); Michele Bimbenet-Privat
Call Number: NK925 .A7713 1994
ISBN: 1558598219
This covers the history of decorative arts from the 15th to the early 20th century.

Video Resources

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive video collection that delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. It includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. It has award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Terms of Use
60 Minutes: 1997-2014, American History in Video, Art and Architecture in Video, Asian Film Online (Volumes * & II), Black Studies in Video, Business Education in Video, Classical Music in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III), Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Current Affairs in Video, Dance in Video (Volumes I & II), Education in Video (Volumes I & II), Environmental Studies in Video, Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I-III), Fashion STudies Online, Filmakers Library Online (Volumes I-III), Health and Society in Video, Latin American in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, The March of Time, Meet the Press, new World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Opera in Video, BBC Video Collection, PBS Video Collect (2nd Ed), Silent Film Online, Theatre in Video (Volumes I & II), Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy, World History in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Includes the Master Academic Collection and the FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection.
Terms of Use
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming movie service providing box-office hits, independent features, documentaries, international movies, and classics.

THEA 285: Period Styles

Your Librarian

Finding Materials in Other Collections

Can't Find It In Our Library?

Selected Library Resources

Video Resources