Research Sources

Finding Articles
Researching Literary Terms

Use these databases to search for literary criticism and theory related to your pieces of fiction. Try searching for the name name of the work (in quotes), the author's name for biographies, and/or keywords relating to themes, for example "literature" and "identity".

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1963. Special features include the full text of the original article for some citations and a collection of images consisting of photographs, maps, and flags.
Terms of Use
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text library of poetry and prose fiction from almost every period and genre of English literature. Includes full-text literary criticism and reference sources. Coverage: 7th century-present. 4 simultaneous users
Terms of Use
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use

You can also use these resources to find information related to your group presentation topics (ex. "point of view", "exposition" or "allegory"). Literary Reference Center will be especially useful if you need to brush up on what these terms mean.

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Terms of Use
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online edition of accepted authority and guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. Provides comprehensive etymological analysis and listing of variant spellings while tracing the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations.

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Chris Baldick
Publication Date: 2015
eBook
A New Handbook of Literary Terms by David Mikics
eBook

Can't Find the Full Text of an Article?

Try Interlibrary Loan!

Login with your myWSU ID and password to request a copy of an article or book. WSU Libraries participates in RapidILL, so articles are emailed within 24 hours (and often come as soon as 1-2 hours after they're requested). Books are shipped within 24 hours of the request and are sent to Ablah Library for you to pick up. It's free!

Interlibrary Loan