Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Types of Sources

Locating Various Types of Sources

A-Z Database Page screenshot with Types of Sources menu circled

Database Types drop down menuResearchers can use the WSU Libraries A-Z Databases page to select databases (electronic resources) that meet specific parameters. Use the "All Database Types" drop down menu to select databases that are primarily images, newspapers, primary sources, or other types of sources.

Special Collections and University Archives is the unit within Wichita State University Libraries that acquires, arranges, preserves, and makes available to the public rare and unique books, manuscripts, university records, photographs and other images, and Kansas maps and atlases. Its purpose is to enhance Wichita State University Libraries' general collection, support the research and teaching programs of Wichita State University, and provide opportunities for research to the people of Wichita and Kansas and to the research community at large.

Library catalog with Special Collections filter highlightedThis department has a wide variety of print and digital collections. Researchers may use these materials via the website or in person by appointment. The library Online Catalog has library records for most Special Collections materials. Use the "Special Collections & University Archives" filter to limit the search to these collections. 

Special Collections has its own finding aids, however. Use the links below to locate materials for each type of source.

Manuscripts cover a wide range of topics. The various holdings are comprised of papers of organizations and individuals, diaries, company records, correspondence and other materials. Narrative finding aids with folder-level descriptions are available online for all processed manuscript collections.

Images are valuable resources for research. Among the subject areas are cities and towns of Kansas, sod houses, aviation and Western scenes.

University Archives are the non-current records that document the development and growth of the University. The papers of past presidents, administrators and distinguished faculty, publications by and about the University, catalogs, photographs, student newspapers, and the yearbooks comprise the holdings

Maps from the Baughman Collection of Early Kansas Maps, a collection of 19th-century maps, form the nucleus of the collection and depict Kansas and the territory that would become Kansas, dating from the 16th century through the 20th century. A recent project is the digitization of over 325 early Kansas maps.

Rare Books include subject areas such as Wichita and Kansas history, the U.S. Civil War and Sanitary Commission, abolition, the history of printing, Mesmerism and hypnotism, and aviation and other modes of transportation.

Local History materials document Wichita and the surrounding area. They include manuscript collections, image collections, maps, books and the "Tihen Notes," Dr. Edward N. Tihen's notes from Wichita newspapers.

See the subject areas "Government," "Criminal Justice," and "Political Science" for library databases on the A-Z Databases page related to legal and governmental research.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers