To find even more videos, go to Electronic Databases and limit the type of resource to streaming media.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe history and influence of journalism is a central theme in The Influencing Machine. There are two ways to locate videos and streaming media in our collections. See the right column for one method of locating videos.
A more efficient method is to use the WSU Libraries Catalog. Filter the search to "DVD/Video" to find videos and streaming media. Further limiting the list to publications from 2012 and later will increase the chance of locating streaming media. MOST of our streaming media collections are included in the WSU Libraries Catalog, although searching each database separately is necessary for a comprehensive search.
For this particular topic, it is important to identify WHAT has been influenced by the news, such as history, public opinion, legislation, etc.
Sample keyword searches:
The Sun Never Sets: The Story of a Small Town Newspaper [video file]. (2014). In Films on Demand. 55 minutes.
The Sun Never Sets is a film about the Rio Grande Sun, published in Española, New Mexico, and considered one of the best weekly newspapers in the country. Known for its integrity and award winning, investigative reporting, the Sun consistently attracts young, dedicated journalists. The paper broke the story that its own rural community had the highest per capita heroin overdose rate in the country. It has led the fight for open records and open meetings in a county where political shenanigans are the rule. In the age of digital media and the 24- hour news cycle, the Sun practices real community journalism, causing traffic jams when it's hawked on the street.
Press Usage: Photo [video file]. (2012). In Films on Demand. 27 minutes.
The alliance of photography with the popular press led to an era of creativity in the medium in the 1930s, with eye-catching layouts replacing the traditional rectangular photo format. But before long press photography took on a potent life of its own. The men and women behind the camera became special witnesses to current events and through newspaper reporting were able to pass their visions on to the wider world. Dorothea Lange's "Migrant Mother" made an impact as soon as it was published, as did Walker Evans' evocative series on Alabama sharecroppers and images by Weegee, Robert Capa, and Brassai. This program profiles these and other 20th-century photojournalists, with a special look at Henri Cartier-Bresson's "The People of Moscow," Josef Koudelka's photos of the invasion of Czechoslovakia, and Richard Avedon's portraits for Rolling Stone.
Find videos related to the topic of the ethics of journalism or reporting, a central theme in The Influencing Machine, in the WSU Libraries Catalog. Videos can also be streamed from the library's databases, Academic Video Online Premium or Films on Demand. See the right column for direct links to these databases.
Sample keyword searches:
Moyers & Company The Lies That Lead to War [video file]. (2014). In Films on Demand. 22 minutes.
In this edition of Moyers & Company, Bill speaks with investigative journalist Charles Lewis whose new book, 935 Lies: The Future of Truth and the Decline of America's Moral Integrity details the many government falsehoods that have led us into the current crisis in Iraq and the tragic record of American policy in the Middle East.
Filmmaker Errol Morris on Donald Rumsfeld and Evidence-based Journalism [video file]. (2014). In Films on Demand. 42 minutes.
Donald Rumsfeld's "war crime," says Oscar-winning filmmaker Errol Morris, is "the gobbledygook, the blizzard of words, the misdirections, the evasions...and ultimately at the heart of it all...the disregard and devaluation of evidence." The former Secretary of Defense's complicated relationship with the truth is the subject of Morris' new documentary, "The Unknown Known," an extended conversation with Rumsfeld that focuses on his role in leading U.S. military forces into Iraq. This interview with Morris also covers Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara, whose relationship with his past is the subject of Morris' film, "The Fog of War;" Morris' take on the Jeffrey MacDonald murder case, which was the subject of his book, "A Wilderness of Error;" how President Obama compares to President Bush; his friendships with Roger Ebert and Werner Herzog; and why "we're all morons".
Tips for Finding Videos in the University Libraries
Where do I find Videos?
Videos can be found in the following places:
WSU Libraries Catalog - Filter the search to "DVD/Video" to find videos and streaming media. Further limiting the list to publications from 2012 and later will increase the chance of locating streaming media.
Smart Search - Use the Smart Search bar on the libraries' homepage to search for videos across the library's various resources.
Electronic Databases - Choose an individual database to search for videos. This link provides an A-Z list of all the library's electronic databases.
Interlibrary Loan - If the libraries at WSU do not have the video you are looking for, you can request an interlibrary loan to borrow the video from another institution.
How do I search for videos?
Circulating Ideas facilitates conversations about the innovative people & ideas allowing libraries to thrive in the 21st century. Brought to you with support from the University of South Carolina School of Library and Information Science and listeners like you. The following individual videos are related to fake news, information literacy, and journalism.
