FYED 102B Race and Ethnicity in Modern America

Electronic resources may be accessed from on or off-campus by using any of the links on the Libraries website.  Off-campus users will be prompted to login with their myWSU ID and password.

Electronic access to resources is wonderul when it works but if you are having difficulty accessing a database, e-journal, e-book, streaming video or audio file, or an online article, try these tips.

   Connecting to an E-Resource

   Common Error Messages & Problems

   Report a Problem with an E-Resource

Some e-resources will not display correctly or function properly if the web browser is not configured properly.  Try one or more of the following:

• Check your WiFi network. If you're on campus, make sure you are using WSU Secure wifi network. It is faster, more reliable, and will enable IP authentication while on-campus. The WSU Guest network is for visitors to the campus and does not provide secure access or access to library online resources. 
• Try a different browser.  There are several browsers to choose from such as Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Firefox, and Safari.  Try switching to a different browser.  Also, make sure the most up-to-date browser is being used.  Often times databases don't support old versions of browsers.
• Clear the cache.  Clearing the cache will often solve many display and access problems.  You will most likely have to reboot the browser once you have cleared the cache.
• Allow cookies.  Be sure the browser is set to accept cookies.  Many e-resources require the use of cookies and will not work if they are blocked.
• Delete cookies.  Sometimes the browser will continue to use an old cookie or corrupted cookie rather than accept a new cookie from the e-resource.  Try deleting cookies, reboot the browser, and then accessing the e-resource again.
• Adjust pop-up blocker settings.  Some e-resources require the use of pop-ups for content delivery.  Be sure the pop-up blocker allows pop-ups from this vendor. 
• Enable Javascript.  This is a scripting language commonly used to make web pages interactive.  Disabling JavaScript may cause some sites to not work properly.
• Enable Java.  Java is a popular programming language used to create interactive or animated web content.  Disabling Java may cause some sites to not work properly.
• Allow images.  Be sure the browser is set to allow images.  Disabling images may cause some sites to not work properly.
• Check that the Firewall allows access to the resource.  Off-campus access to e-resources from behind a firewall may not work.  Sometimes the security settings on firewalls are such that authentication is not possible.  Contact the Internet Service Provider (ISP) to discuss options but you may have to access the e-resource from elsewhere.
• VPN. Off-campus access to library resources works best without VPN, anonymizers, and other additional tools, instead using a proxy server to ensure secure connection to licensed content. 

myWSUid and Password are not Recognized A problem with your myWSUid or campus login will block your access to library databases and resources.  If you are unable to login to your myWSU id account, contact the Help Desk at 316-978-4357.
500 Error Message This type of error usually occurs when a link is bad on the web site.  Please be sure you are using links from the Libraries' web site and not a bookmarked link. 
Access DeniedYou may need to clear the cache and delete your cookies.  WSU Libraries may not subscribe to the content that you wish to use.  In many cases, we do not subscribe to all of the publications that a publisher offers on their site, or to all of the years or issues of a particular publication.

• Check the Database List by Title, the E-Journal Portal, or the Library Catalog for coverage and availability information for the resource.
• Contact Research Services at 316-978-3584 or wu_knows@wichita.edu for assistance in accessing available resources or locating alternative resources.

It could also be that the Libraries has a limited number of simultaneous users and the maximum number of users are logged in.   Try again in a few minutes.  
After clicking on an e-resource, there is a blank screen possible issues:

• The cache needs to be cleared on the browser.
• A firewall is blocking the connection.  Many businesses and Internet Service Providers (ISP) will place restrictions on their firewalls.  Talk with your IT department or ISP to see if they are able to modify their firewall so that you can access the e-resource.
• The individual e-resource may not be working.  Try another resource from a different vendor.  If you are able to access that resource, try the original resource again in a few minutes or check the E-Resource Status Blog to see if there is scheduled maintenance occurring.
• The browser is using a redirect blocker.  This will prevent e-resources from functioning correctly.

Having difficulty viewing a PDF? If you are having difficulty retrieving PDF documents, it may help if you first save the file to your computer and print it from there.  Save the file using the save icon located in Adobe Acrobat Reader instead of the File menu.  To print a file, click the print icon on Adobe Acrobat Reader instead of choosing print from the File menu.  If you are still encountering problems you may need to upgrade to the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.  Upgrading to the latest version will usually solve most common PDF loading/viewing problems. EBSCO ebooks requires the software Adobe Digital Additions. 
EZ Proxy host error message If a message like the following displays after clicking on an e-resource link, copy and paste the message into the E-Resource Problem Form. This message indicates that the e-resource needs to be added to the proxy system.  The problem will be corrected as soon as possible. 

To allow http://www.hopewell.edu to be used in a starting point URL, your EZproxy administrator must first authorize the hostname of this URL in the config.txt file.

Within this database's section of config.txt, either the following line must be added:

Host www.hopewell.edu

or, alternatively, a RedirectSafe for this host or domain may be appropriate.

After editing config.txt, the EZproxy server must be restarted to make changes take effect.

Off Campus error message "File missing: docs\suspend.htm" Possible Issues: 

You have triggered proxy server security rules. Please email faye.oreilly@wichita.edu immediately to restore access. 

If you are unable to immediately connect to an e-resource:

• Occasionally, a resource may be temporarily unavailable.  If this happens, wait and try again in a few minutes.  
• Some resources have a limited number of simultaneous users and may be temporarily unavailable due to a high volume of usage.  Check the notes for the database in the Databases by Title list for any restrictions on the number of simultaneous users.

If a resource is consistently unavailable, please report the problem via the E-Resources Problem Form.  Please be specific about the nature of the problem and any error messages you received.  We will attempt to solve any problems as soon as possible.

If you need assistance in using an online resource, please contact Research Services at 316-978-3584, wu_knows@wichita.edu, or the Liaison Librarian for your subject area.