LibGuides: ANTH 318 Psychological Anthropology: Find Articles

Selected Scholarly Journals in Psychological Anthropology

Annual Review of Anthropology
Reviews of current research.
Annual Review of Psychology
Reviews of current research.
Anthropology of Consciousness
Society for the Anthropology of Consciousness, American Anthropological Association.
Culture & Psychology
SAGE journal.
Ethos
Journal of the Society for Psychological Anthropology
Journal of Cognition and Culture CC
JSTOR Anthropology
Search across anthropology journals available in JSTOR. For a link to entire JSTOR database, use the link in the box below.

Information Need for Bibliography

The following is the information needed in the annotated bibliography for 10 articles -- five articles from the journal, Culture & Psychology, and five articles from the journal, Ethos.:

Author, Year, Article Title and Subtitle, Journal Name, Volume, Issue, Inclusive Page Numbers, Permanent URL
Abstract (Copy and paste the abstract found with the article online. If an abstract is not available, write your own, summarizing the article in 75-100 words.)

The information for all 10 articles should be formatted according to one of three citation styles: APA, MLA, or Chicago. (See "Cite Your Work" tab on the left.

Use only research articles for your bibliography. Do not use book reviews or short articles or reports.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Using the following databases will help you find citations to articles from scholarly journals. When using a database, limit your search to "peer reviewed" and/or "scholarly journals", if possible, so that your search results will include only citations from scholarly journals. Most databases allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals. Some databases such as Anthropology Plus and JSTOR are made up entirely of scholarly journals, so limiting your search is not necessary.

Do a keyword search in one of the databases below. Examples of keyword search statements:

           stress and culture
           (stress or trauma) and cultur*
           grief and papua new guinea
   (grief or bereavement or sorrow) and papua new guinea
samo* and temperament
   spatial orientation or wayfinding
           dream* and (cross-cultural or cultural differences)
   culture-bound and (illness* or disease* or syndrome*)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, essays, and chapters from journals, serials, and edited works in all fields of anthropology. Compiled by the Tozzer Library at Harvard University. Coverage: Late 19th century-present. 10 simultaneous users shared with KSU & KU
Terms of Use
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Terms of Use
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Terms of Use
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Article citations and abstracts from over 600 periodicals and scholarly journals in all areas of the social sciences. Includes full-text access to some journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1995-present. 99 simultaneous users.
Terms of Use

Verifying Articles are from Scholarly Journals

If you are wondering about a specific journal, use the Ulrichsweb.com database to confirm that a journal is refereed (scholarly) by looking up a journal and checking for Refereed icon ().

Click on the last tab to the left --"Magazine or Journal: How Do You Tell?", for information on the differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals. If you still have questions about a journal, contact the instructor or librarian for this class.