THEA 624: Theatre History II

This coveres American theatre from its earliest history to the 2006, with special attention given to contemporary theatre throughout the United States. In addition to some 2,300 compact entries on people, venues, plays, and other theatrical phenomena, almost 100 topical entries are provided, covering theatre in several major U.S. cities and such disparate subjects as Asian-American theatre, theatre architecture, female and male impersonation, magic, costume, Shakespeare on the American stage, unions, Hispanic theatre, stage lighting, and dramatic theory. The entries, arranged alphabetically, provide information not only on mainstream topics but also on marginalized and alternative theatre, popular forms (such as the circus, vaudeville, and burlesque), and key plays from the U.S. theatrical annals.

This is another opportunity to find information on theatre related topics, biographies, companies and country summaries.

This title provides coverage encompassing the definition of creativity, the development and expression of creativity across the lifespan, the environmental conditions that encourage or discourage creativity, creativity within specific disciplines like acting, music, dance, film, art, literature, etc., the relationship of creativity and mental health, intelligence, and learning styles, and the process of being creative.

This title presents the history of the theater of Latin America as well as the history of the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States. Entries describe important playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements in Latin American theater.

This title contains information about plays written or adapted by American authors, produced on and off Broadway from 1900 to 1975. Arranged alphabetically, each entry contains a terse plot description and basic production information such as authorship, cast, opening date and location, length of run and other versions.

This title examines the history and development of ancient Greek and Roman drama from the late sixth century B.C.E. through the first century C.E. It contains approximately 400 entries in an A-to-Z format and covers the 80 complete plays that survive from the classical era, as well as information on authors, settings, genres, and etc..

This celebrates nearly 200 years of black theater in the United States and the thousands of black theater artists across the country—identifying representative black theaters, playwrights, plays, actors, directors, and designers and chronicling their contributions to the field from the birth of black theater in 1816 to the present. With a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. the dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on actors, playwrights, plays, musicals, theatres, directors, and designers.

This title covers Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela). Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history. The introduction provides a review of Latin American literature and theater as a whole while separate dictionary entries for each country offer insight into the history of national literatures. Entries for literary terms, movements, and genres serve to complement these commentaries, and an extensive bibliography points the way for further reading.

In 3 volumes, volume one contains information about plays including where known, date and location of first publication and production, bibliographies, and critical essays. Volume 2 contains entries on playwrights, each with a summary of the writer's life and career, works list, bibliography and a signed critical essay; as well as an index to plays. Volume three contains entries of actors, directors and designers, each with a biography, list of productions and roles, a bibliography and a signed critical overview of the artist's work for the stage.

This 4 volume set provides biographical information and critical evaluations of the works of world renowned dramatists. Lengthy entries are accompanied by illustrations, a listing of plays and editions as well as short bibliographies of criticism, where possible. The concluding volume contains an index of play titles.

Find here entries for plays, biography of theatrical notables, types of theatre and  organizations involved in American Theatre.

Covering both English and French language theatre in Canada, entries discuss genres, major subjects, theatre and theatre companies, biography, criticism and major plays.

With short entries on topics in theatre science, biographies, companies, and country summaries, this is a good place to check for a quick overview of a given topic in theatre.

Find here basic background information and synopses for 1,000 significant plays of world drama. Also with indices of major characters and playwrights; plays listed by country of origin and period, and a selective bibliography.

In 2 volumes, this set provides authoritative information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to contemporary developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.

This covers both current usage and classical concepts of theatrical analysis with a thematic index located toward the front and an extensive bibliography at the conclusion.

This title explains terms and phrases of the theatre, particularly useful for contemporary slang.

This provides brief definitions, often citing plays to illustrate terms.

This title contains approximately 10,000 English terms and 5,000 terms from more than 60 foreign languages, specifically related to the theatre from 6th Century BC through the 20th century, concluding with an extensive bibliography.

This dictionary of culture (including biographical entries) covers architecture, artistic theory, film, literature, craft, design, dance, fashion, music, mythology, painting, photography, sculpture and theatre, all throughout history.