LibGuides: ENGL 330: Nature of Fiction: Research Sources

Research Sources

Use these databases to search for literary criticism and theory related to your pieces of fiction. Try searching for the name name of the work (in quotes), the author's name for biographies, and/or keywords relating to themes such as "literature" and "androgyny."

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1963. Special features include the full text of the original article for some citations and a collection of images consisting of photographs, maps, and flags.
Terms of Use
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text library of poetry and prose fiction from almost every period and genre of English literature. Includes full-text literary criticism and reference sources. Coverage: 7th century-present. 4 simultaneous users
Terms of Use

These databases will be especially useful for finding articles related to everyday life, politics, and historical events during the time periods you're studying.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

You can also use these resources to find information related to your group presentation topics (ex. "point of view", "exposition" or "setting"). Literary Reference Center will be especially useful if you need to brush up on what these terms mean.

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Terms of Use
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Glossary of Literary Terms

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Chris Baldick
Publication Date: 2008
eBook
A New Handbook of Literary Terms by David Mikics
Publication Date: 2007
eBook

You might want to include additional primary materials (such as letters, diary entries, newspaper articles, photographs, etc.) to supplement your secondary research (articles, criticism, etc.) in your final essay. These sources will help with that.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund
Terms of Use
Current collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: the World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
New York Times (1851-3 years ago) with Index (1851-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the New York Times online for the years 1851-three years ago. This database offers full-page-images and article images. Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of Use
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2013
Terms of Use

Can't Find the Full Text of an Article?

Try Interlibrary Loan!

Login with your myWSU ID and password to request a copy of an article or book. WSU Libraries participates in RapidILL, so articles are emailed within 24 hours (and often come as soon as 1-2 hours after they're requested). Books are shipped within 24 hours of the request and are sent to Ablah Library for you to pick up. It's free!

Interlibrary Loan

ENGL 330: Nature of Fiction

Coordinator of Library Instruction

Books on Reserve

Research Sources

Can't Find the Full Text of an Article?