Skip to Main Content

ANTH 820 Seminar in Biological Anthropology - Skeletal Growth & Development

Searching Tips

1. To locate an article in a scholarly journal, do a keyword or subject heading search in one of the databases listed on this web site under the tab, "Find Articles". Remember to limit by "scholarly journals" in the database, if available. Examples of keyword search statements:

                       craniofacial growth
                       human* and (growth and development)
                       dent* eruption
                       (tooth or teeth or dent*) and formation 
                       skelet* samples and infant*
                       estimat* and skelet* age
                       microstructure and (teeth or tooth) and eruption   
                       growth and (long bone or tibia or femur)                
                                                 
2. In the journal databases like Anthropology Plus or Academic Search Complete, consider truncating terms in your search statement with an "*" asterisk to find alternative endings/spellings. For example, "crani* will find "cranial", "cranium", "craniometric", and craniometrics".  The WSU Online Catalog's symbol for truncation is a "?".
 
3. Consider whether or not there are multiple terms that could be searched for your topic, e.g. skull or cranium. These terms can be searched together in "or" statements.

4. To find an article in an anthropology encyclopedia on your topic, select one of the encyclopedias listed under "Reference Sources" in the tabs above and search by topic.

5. To find a book or ebook on your topic, search in the WSU Libraries Online Catalog. 

     Examples of keyword search statement in the Online Catalog using "Keyword Anywhere":  
                        disease? ecology
                 
     Example of keyword search statement using "Keyword Anywhere (a, or, not):
                       morpholog?  and (skull or crani?)                                                         

Locating Full-Text

Once you have located an article record in one of the databases, you must then link to the full-text, if available.

If there is a PDF Full Text link, click on it to access the article. This is the preferred full-text link if there are multiple options. PDF full-text will give you all of the pagination and graphs, tables, etc. in the format of the original publication.

If there is an HTML Full Text link, click on it to access the article.

If there is a Linked Full Text link, click on it to access the article.

If none of the above links are provided, click on Find Full Text or 360 Link to Full Text tosee if we have it in full-text in another database or if we have it in print. If the article is not available in any format, click on Get Additional Resources related to this and then Request this item from other library Submit Request to access ILLiad, our online Interlibrary Loan system. Use your WSU ID and password to login to ILLiad.  First time users will need to fill out a short form with your contact information. It is very easy to request an article from a database -- the order form will be automatically populated with the article information from the database (title, author, etc.), and you will receive the article very quickly -- often within a couple of hours! We encourage you to use this wonderful service.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram X