Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Savvy Scholar Workshops

A guide to library research workshops for WSU undergraduate students, graduate students, teaching assistants and instructors.

Savvy Scholars do Research at WSU Libraries!

WSU undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty and staff are all invited to attend Savvy Scholar workshops.  Workshops will all be held in Zoom, unless otherwise indicated in the description. Registration is required to receive the Zoom link. Your Shocker email account is required to register. Non-WSU persons must contact angela.paul@wichita.edu to register. Registration may be denied to non-WSU persons.  

If you are Deaf/HoH, and would like to participate in this workshop, please contact Kathy Stewart at least 7 days before the workshop takes place, and there will be an interpreter present in the meeting for you.

See the pages listed in the left column for more information about each topic, including any handouts and digital presentations that might be used in the workshop. (Page titles might not be exactly like the workshop title; the list is alphabetized.) Click on the date/time link below to RSVP for each event. 

February Workshops

Library Services 101 for Students, Faculty and Staff

It's hard to know what you don't know! Come to this quick overview of library services and online collections to stay up-to-date for the spring semester. New and returning students, instructors and other employees will find this helpful.

Writing an Awesome Literature Review

Learn all the steps to create a literature review, from conducting comprehensive research to synthesizing perspectives to presenting your findings.

Finding Books to Read for Fun

Are you always looking for reading recommendations? Do you have trouble finding the type of book you want to read? This workshop will introduce participants to useful online resources for finding book recommendations and tools for keeping track of what you’ve read or want to read.

Real News, Fake News, and Media Bias: Critical Thinking About News Sources

In a time in which it easier than ever to access news about current events on social media and the internet, it is good to think critically about the news source and the accuracy of the information. This workshop introduces several strategies for doing this with fact-checking websites and key questions to ask about a news source.

Advanced Database Searching Strategies

Research can be time consuming, but there are tricks and tips to make it a bit easier! Take a deep dive into database tools like setting filters and using wildcards to help you quickly and efficiently locate articles.

Introduction to EndNote

Learn to use EndNote to upload citation data from library databases, create new citations in various citation styles, organize citations, and insert citations into a MS Word document.

Exploring the Archives

Explore Special Collections and University Archives on this awesome virtual tour with the curator and archivist, Jessica Cerri.

March Workshops

Zotero Citation Management Software

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use, and powerful tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research. In this workshop we will demonstrate how reference management systems can make your life much easier in writing, citing, and keeping track of your resources and research projects. Topics covered include: installing Zotero, adding items to your libraries or folders, creating in-text citations as you compose your papers, generating bibliographies or reference lists in various citation styles, and sharing resources for group projects. (See https://www.zotero.org/)

Finding Social Data

Unlock a wealth of demographic and social data to better understand demographic groups, large populations, and pressing social issues.

Endnote Optimization Strategies

Customize citation styles, edit parenthetical citations, and sync multiple devices with this powerful citation management tool.

Developing a Strong Research Question

A strong research question is the foundation of any successful research project, but what actually makes a question good? In this workshop we’ll explore the essential elements of a research question, work through examples from several subject areas, and practice writing questions as a class.

Search Engine Bias

We use search engines like Google every day, but do we know how they work? This workshop explores how algorithmic biases influence search results and provides strategies for minimizing biased results.

How to Create a Stunning Online Research Poster

Learn how to create impactful and visually effective posters for conferences, competitions and other presentations.

April Workshops

Introduction to EndNote

Learn to use EndNote to upload citation data from library databases, create new citations in various citation styles, organize citations, and insert citations into a MS Word document.

EndNote Optimization Strategies

Customize citation styles, edit parenthetical citations, and sync multiple devices with this powerful citation management tool.

Real News, Fake News, and Media Bias: Critical Thinking About News Sources

In a time in which it easier than ever to access news about current events on social media and the internet, it is good to think critically about the news source and the accuracy of the information. This workshop introduces several strategies for doing this with fact-checking websites and key questions to ask about a news source.

Zotero Citation Management Software

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use, and powerful tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research. In this workshop we will demonstrate how reference management systems can make your life much easier in writing, citing, and keeping track of your resources and research projects. Topics covered include: installing Zotero, adding items to your libraries or folders, creating in-text citations as you compose your papers, generating bibliographies or reference lists in various citation styles, and sharing resources for group projects. (See https://www.zotero.org/)

Writing an Awesome Literature Review

Learn all the steps to create a literature review, from conducting comprehensive research to synthesizing perspectives to presenting your findings.

Finding Books to Read for Fun

Are you always looking for reading recommendations? Do you have trouble finding the type of book you want to read? This workshop will introduce participants to useful online resources for finding book recommendations and tools for keeping track of what you’ve read or want to read.

Search Engine Bias

We use search engines like Google every day, but do we know how they work? This workshop explores how algorithmic biases influence search results and provides strategies for minimizing biased results.

Looking for a faculty member to work with? Sometimes finding a faculty mentor to work with is as simple as asking your current professors. 

Faculty Research Interests 
Look for lists of faculty member bios in that department; these will often include current research projects each faculty member is working on. The Honors College sometimes is able to pair student researchers with faculty projects. You may also want to look at different departmental webpages on the WSU website.

SOAR
Browse through SOAR, WSU's Institutional Repository, to see the open access research projects and papers WSU faculty members have published. This can help you target in on a faculty member that has similar research interests as you, and give you some talking points when you approach that faculty member as a possible mentor.

Ask A Librarian

chat widget image   

Chat with us or request a Zoom session via the adjacent chat box. Our chat service is staffed during Reference Desk hours
If chat is not available, send us a question via e-mail.

cell phone vector
   Text us with research and other library-related questions to

                                 316-453-6911

e-mail vector

   

         Email a librarian with your question
         or fill out this form.

 

 

 

Subject Librarians are available to help students, faculty, and staff with their research and library instruction needs. Use the left-hand navigation tabs to find the librarian assigned to a particular subject or college. Contact your subject librarian for assistance or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation.

Although the Reference Desk on the first floor of Ablah Library is currently closed, librarians are available to meet with you in person if needed. Contact a Subject Librarian to make an appointment.

reference desk vector
What are some reasons to contact a librarian?

‚Äč      To find the best resources for your topic
      To discuss strategies and develop skills for searching article databases and the library catalog
      To identify and locate primary source materials

       


If a librarian is not available, you may also seek assistance from other library staff during library hours who will refer you to the appropriate librarian or department as necessary. 

See the full schedule of library hours including Reference Desk, presession, intersession, and holiday hours for the main library (Ablah) and for the Chemistry and Music branch libraries. Ablah Library hours are also available on an automated phone line: 316-978-3581.

phone handset vector   
   Circulation Desk (Ablah Library)  316-978-3582
   
   Music Library  316-978-3029
  
   Interlibrary Loan  316-978-3167

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers