Skip to main content

Savvy Researcher Workshops

A guide to library research workshops for WSU undergraduate students, graduate students, teaching assistants and instructors.

Introduction

WSU undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty and staff are all invited to attend the Undergraduate Research Workshops. All workshops are held in 217 Ablah, unless otherwise indicated in the WSU Libraries Events calendar. This semester, we are trying Wednesday as well as Friday workshops for more opportunities for students to attend. We are also trying early semester and late semester workshops for better point-of-need timing. Click on the date/time link to RSVP for each event.

February Workshops

A Call for Papers! How Do I Publish or Present at Conferences? Learn how to get published in peer-reviewed journals and professional conferences.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, February 6

Visuals: How Do I Create Effective Research Posters? Learn how to create stunning and visually effective posters for conferences, competitions and other presentations.

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, February 8

Research: How Do I Write a Literature Review? Learn all the steps to create a literature review, from conducting comprehensive research to synthesizing perspective to presenting your findings.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, February 13

I've Heard of Endnote: How Do I Get Started? Learn to use Endnote to upload citation data from library databases, create new citations in various citation styles, organize citations, and insert citations into a MS Word document.

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, February 15

A Call for Papers! How Do I Publish or Present at Conferences? Learn how to get published in peer-reviewed journals and professional conferences.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, February 20

Advanced Searching: How Do I Go Beyond Basic Search? Go beyond the basic search box with advanced search techniques like proximity searching, setting filters and limiters, and using wildcards.

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, February 22

Citations: How Do I Write Papers in APA Style? Identify strategies to avoid plagiarism, and learn and practice using the American Psychological Association (APA) 6th edition style to write and format research papers and citation lists.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, February 27
March Workshops

Dear Diary: How Can I Find Diaries, Journals, and Letters? Explore historical and primary sources in Special Collections and University Archives, American Memory, and other open web sources.

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, March 1

Research: How Do I Write a Literature Review? Learn all the steps to create a literature review, from conducting comprehensive research to synthesizing perspectives to presenting your findings.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, March 6

More Endnote: What Else Can I Do With It? Customize citation styles, edit parenthetical citations and sync multiple devices.

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, March 8

Advanced Searching: How Do I Go Beyond Basic Search? Go beyond the basic search box with advanced search techniques like proximity searching, setting filters and limits, and using wildcards.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, March 27

Understanding Populations: Where Do I Find Demographic Data for Social Research Learn how to locate demographic and social data to better understand populations using library databases and government resources online.

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, March 29
April Workshops

Dear Diary: How Can I Find Diaries, Journals, and Letters? Explore historical and primary sources in Special Collections and University Archives, American Memory, and other open web sources.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, April 3

Research: How Do I Write a Literature Review? Learn all the steps to create a literature review, from conducting comprehensive research to synthesizing perspectives to presenting your findings.

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, April 5

I've Heard of Endnote: How Do I Get Started? Learn to use Endnote to upload citation data from library databases, create new citations in various citation styles, organize citations, and insert citations into a MS Word document.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, April 10

Citations: How Do I Write Papers in APA style? Identify strategies to avoid plagiarism, and learn and practice using the American Psychological Association (APA) 6th edition style to write and format research papers and citation lists..

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, April 12

More Endnote: What Else Can I Do With It? Customize citation styles, edit parenthetical citations, and sync multiple devices.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, April 24

Understanding Populations: Where Do I Find Demographic Data for Social Research Learn how to locate demographic and social data to better understand populations using library databases and government resources online.

  • 12-1:00 pm Friday, April 26
May Workshop

How Can I Continue My Research After I Graduate? Discover how to use the WSU Libraries and State Library of Kansas's resources for your search post-graduation.

  • 4-5:00 pm Wednesday, May 1

Welcome to the "How To" Guide Portal!
third floor Ablah

This page is designed to assist WSU students involved in research. On these pages, you'll find information on engaging in research, writing a literature review, citing sources and avoiding plagiarism. Some of these topics have been or may be currently taught in the Savvy Researcher workshop series. If you have any questions, or would like to schedule a one-on-one appointment or chat with a librarian, go to the "Ask-a-Librarian" page or box below.

"How do I..." LibGuide list:

Worried about a research project? Want to get a step ahead of your classmates and earn college credit?

Enroll in LASI 170: Introduction to Library Research

Loading ...

Ask A Librarian

Visit a librarian at the Reference Desk on the first floor of Ablah Library or contact a Subject Librarian to make an appointment.

reference desk vector
What are some reasons to contact a librarian?

‚Äč      To find the best resources for your topic
      To discuss strategies and develop skills for searching article databases and the library catalog
      To identify and locate primary source materials

       


If a librarian is not available, you may also seek assistance from other library staff during library hours who will refer you to the appropriate librarian or department as necessary. 

See the full schedule of library hours including Reference Desk, presession, intersession, and holiday hours for the main library (Ablah) and for the Chemistry and Music branch libraries. Ablah Library hours are also available on an automated phone line: 316-978-3581.

phone handset vector   
    Circulation Desk (Ablah Library)  316-978-3582
   Reference Desk (Ablah Library)  316-978-3584
   Music Library  316-978-3029
   Chemistry Library  316-978-3764
   Interlibrary Loan  316-978-3167

chat widget image   

   Chat with us via the adjacent chat box. Our chat service is staffed during Reference Desk hours.
   If chat is not available, send us a question via e-mail.

cell phone vector   

  
 Text us with research and other library-related questions to

                                 316-453-6911

e-mail vector

   

         Email a librarian with your question.

 

 

Subject Librarians are available to help students, faculty, and staff with their research and library instruction needs. Use the left-hand navigation tabs to find the librarian assigned to a particular subject or college. Contact your subject librarian for assistance or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation.

Loading ...
Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers