Skip to Main Content

ANTH 352 Anthropological Linguistics

Reference Sources

Biographical Dictionary of Anthropologists by William Stewart
Call Number: GN20 .S84 2009
ISBN: 9780786436712
Publication Date: 2009-03-26
Click on title to access ebook.
Also available in print.
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Vered Amit (Editor)
Call Number: GN20 .A45 2004
ISBN: 0415223792
Publication Date: 2004-02-23
Click on title to access ebook.
Also available in print.

Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Mike Morris
ISBN: 144436698X
Publication Date: 2012-03-19
Click on title to access ebook.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by Peter H. Matthews
ISBN: 0192800086
Publication Date: 2007
Click on title to access ebook.
Dictionary of Anthropology by Thomas Barfield (Editor)
ISBN: 1577180577
Publication Date: 2000
Click on title to access ebook.
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by David Crystal
ISBN: 9781405152969
Publication Date: 2008-06-23
Click on title to access ebook.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by David Crystal
Call Number: P29 .C64 1997
ISBN: 0521550505
Publication Date: 1997-01-28
Companion to Linguistic Anthropology by Alessandro Duranti (Editor)
Call Number: P35 .C59 2004
ISBN: 0631223525
Publication Date: 2004-02-23
Concise Compendium of the World's Languages by George Campbell
Call Number: P371 .C37 1995
ISBN: 041511392X
Publication Date: 1994-12-12
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by H. James Birx (Editor)
Call Number: GN11 .E63 2006
ISBN: 0761930299
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Click on title to access ebook.
Also available in print.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science by L. Nadel
ISBN: 9781849724739
Publication Date: 2010-02-22
Click on title to access ebook.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Philipp Strazny (Editor)
ISBN: 9781579583910
Publication Date: 2004-12-27
Click on title to access ebook.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: GN307 .R68 2010
ISBN: 0415409780
Publication Date: 2010-01-20
Click on title to access ebook.
Also available in print.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media and Communication by Marcel Danesi (Editor)
Call Number: P87.5 .D36 2000
ISBN: 0802047831
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Ethnologue: Languages of the World by M. Paul Lewis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781556712166
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Ethnologue is the comprehensive reference volume that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. The Ethnologue has been an active research project for more than fifty years. Widely regarded to be the most comprehensive listing of information of its kind. A new edition is published about every four years. Includes 6,909 language descriptions organized by continent and country; 208 color maps showing location and distribution of languages; statistical summaries with numerical tabulations of living languages and number of speakers by continent, by language size, by language family, and by country.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by William J. Frawley (Editor)
ISBN: 0195139771
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Click on title to access ebook.
Linguistics Encyclopedia by Kirsten Malmkjaer (Editor)
Call Number: P29 .L52 2002
ISBN: 0415222095
Publication Date: 2001-12-29
World's Major Languages by Bernard Comrie (Editor)
Call Number: P371 .W6 1987
ISBN: 0195205219
Publication Date: 1987-05-28

Continuum Companion to the Philosophy of Language by Manuel Garcia-Carpintero (Editor); Max Kolbel (Editor)
Call Number: P107 .C5935 2012
ISBN: 9780826444066
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
Definitive guide to contemporary philosophy of language.
Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature by Anna L. DeMiller; James Rettig (Contribution by)
ISBN: 1563086190
Publication Date: 2000-01-15
Click on title to access ebook.
Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Analysis by Bernd Heine (Editor); Heiko Narrog (Editor)
Call Number: P126 .O94 2010
ISBN: 9780199544004
Publication Date: 2010-02-28
Compares the main analytic frameworks and methods of contemporary linguistics. Offers a unique overview of linguistic theory, revealing the common concerns of competing approaches. By showing their current and potential applications it provides the means by which linguists and others can judge what are the most useful models for the task in hand. Distinguished scholars from all over the world explain the rationale and aims of over thirty explanatory approaches to the description, analysis, and understanding of language. Each chapter considers the main goals of the model; the relation it proposes between lexicon, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, and phonology; the way it defines the interaction between cognition and grammar; what it counts as evidence; and how it explains linguistic change and structure.
SAGE Handbook of Social Anthropology by Richard Fardon (Editor); John Gledhill; Oliva Harris (Editor); Trevor H. J. Marchand (Editor); Mark Nuttall (Editor); Cris Shore (Editor); Veronica Strang (Editor); Richard Wilson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847875471
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Click on title to access ebook.

Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 400 reference titles from over 70 publishers covering every major subject. Seamless searching of Credo Reference sources, the WSU Libraries Catalog, and other Libraries subscribed databases.
Terms of Use
Video tour of Credo Reference
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc.
Terms of Use
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text to dictionaries, reference books, and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press in a broad range of subjects: general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and Business. 4 simultaneous users.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions |

Instagram