Special Collections and University Archives, Wichita State University Libraries, is please to present over 325 digitzed Kansas maps, dating from 1556 to 1900, for interactive viewing. These digitized maps and the new ways to access, view and study them are made possible by the finanical support of the Kansas Library Network Board and Wichita physician Dr. James C. Mershon.
Geographic focus: Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Brooklyn, and North Carolina. Personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, oral histories, photographs, postcards, maps and ephemera.
Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps, newspapers, photographs and travel journals. Dates range from earliest contact with European settlers to the Civil Rights movement.
Digital archive of sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
This collection documents the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, mainland Europe and Asia during the 19th and early 20th centuries in personal diaries, letters, travel journals, scrapbooks, original maps, watercolors, engravings, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material.
Covers the "long" nineteenth century including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics.
Current collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: the World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Maps in Online Archives
A selection of maps and land records in openly available databases online..