LibGuides: ENGL 310: Nature of Poetry: Finding Articles

Literary Databases

Use these databases to search for literary criticism and theory related to your poem(s). Try searching for the poem name (in quotes), the author's name for biographies, and/or keywords such as "harlem renaissance" or "New Negro Movement".

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database with literary criticism and author information.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Terms of Use
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is a great source for full-text literary criticism and reference sources. Also includes full-text of poetry and prose fiction from almost every period and genre of English literature.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, and contains information on literary figures from all time periods, writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.

Additional Databases

These databases will be especially useful for finding articles related to historical events during the Harlem Renaissance.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For Optimal Performance, use Firefox or Edge. Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use

Can't Find the Full Text of an Article?

Try Interlibrary Loan!

Login with your myWSU ID and password to request a copy of an article or book. WSU Libraries participates in RapidILL, so articles are emailed within 24 hours (and often come as soon as 1-2 hours after they're requested). Books are shipped within 24 hours of the request and are sent to Ablah Library for you to pick up. It's free!

Interlibrary Loan