ENTR 604: Franchise Management

Use the NAICS code to find industry reports, articles mentioning the industry, or lists of companies in that industry.

• County Business Patterns - County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides economic data by industry, and is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas. The site also provides information on Metro Business Patterns (MBP) and ZIP Code Business Patterns (ZBP)
• Yahoo Industry Center with browsable Industry Index - Find financial market data by industry, compare performance of top companies within an industry, and find news and top-ranked analysts

Sites for Specific Industries

• FOOD
  • Food Marketing Institute - FMI is an organization representing food retailers and wholesalers
  • National Cattlemen's Beef Association - Resource for cattle producers and the beef industry
  • National Restaurant Association - Trade association for restaurants and affiliated organizations (suppliers, etc.)
  • Grocery Manufacturers Association - Trade association for grocery manufacturers providing news, research, and industry trends

• HEALTH CARE
  • American Hospital Association - Trade association for hospitals and health care facilities providing research, news, and other resources
  • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services - US Department of Health and Human Services office for Medicare and Medicaid services. Includes policies and regulations as well as analytical and technical data
  • Medical Expenditure Panel Survey - Product of the US Department of Health and Human Services providing comprehensive data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage
  • National Center for Health Statistics - US Centers for Disease Control website for US health statistics
  • State Health Facts - Kaiser Family Foundation site with information and statistics about health at the state level
  • World Health Organization - including World Health Report and health data - WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations. Provides health data and statistics, publications, and health-related country information

• RETAIL
  • Food Marketing Institute - Provides data about supermarkets, including top retailers, industry reports, top food processors and regulatory affairs
  • International Council of Shopping Centers  - International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC) is the global trade association of the shopping center industry. Research information is for members only, but periodicals listed under "publications" are free
  • National Association of Convenience Stores - Includes fact sheets about scope of the convenience store industry, motor fuels, industry issues and merchandise and services
  • National Automobile Dealers Association  - Auto industry news, product information, and sales reports from professional association of American car and truck dealers
  • National Retail Federation - NRF represents retailers throughout the globe, publishes STORES magazine, and provides limited research information (some for members only)
  • Toy Industry Association  - Find economic data, corporate social responsibility initiatives, international trade regulations, reports and studies, and toy industry trends

Compiled from this source.