LibGuides: Wichita Business Research: Industry Overviews

Industry Overviews

The amount of information you find will vary depending upon the industry and the resource used. One way to find additional information is to use alternate names for your industry as well as broader and/or more specific industry categories in your research.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A research tool providing online industry intelligence covering 98% of the U.S. economy. Core US NAICS Industry Reports, US Risk Reports, iExper summary reports, Business Environment Reports, US Specialized Industry Reports, Canadian Industry Reports, Global Industry Research, and China Industry Reports are all included. Over 700 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code are available. Reports contain trends, statistics, and analysis oon market size, market share of competitors and industry growth rates. major market segments and the forces affecting supply and demand within the industry are identified.
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides industry reports based on SIC and NAICS codes, as well as company info and articles. In the advanced search mode, you can search the full text of industry reports for mentions of products or sub-industries.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Narrow your search to document type "Industry Reports".
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Narrow your search to the document type "Industry Overview" and/or the publication type "Industry Profile."
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click on the "Industry Analysis" tab to look for specific industry reports.
Includes access to:
International Inactive Data
Expanded Long Term Debt
US Earnings Estimates
International Earnings Estimates
Institutional Holdings
Insider Holdings
US Equity Pricing
International Equity Pricing
Unadjusted Pricing
North American Annual Reports
International Annual Reports
Equity Reports
Equity Reports Integrated Search
Economic Time Series

Industry Snapshots
From the U.S. Census Bureau

ValueLine Investment Survey - Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Evaluates on the performance and economic outlook of industries and the major public companies within them.

Industry Outlooks
Featuring detailed analysis and editorial reports on a variety of industries.
Current Industrial Reports
Census data related to economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
Yahoo Industry Center
Find financial market data by industry, compare performance of top companies within an industry, and find news and top-ranked analysts
Kansas Industry Data
From CEDBR

Journals

Forbes
Call Number: Per HF 5001 F6
Special features of the online version of Forbes include searchable databases: Forbes 500 Annual Directory, Forbes International 500.
Fortune
Call Number: Per HF 5001 F7
Special issues of this periodical include the "18 Month Economic Forecast: (Jan. and July), "Fortune 500" (May), and "Largest Non-Industrials" (July). Fortune 500 information is included in the Web site.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Industries
ISBN: 9781414486864
Publication Date: 2011-06-01

Wichita Business Research

Business Librarian

Ask-A-Librarian

Industry Overviews

Journals

Encyclopedias