Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 101 Introduction to Biological Anthropology

Instructional Video for 10-Topic Library Exercise

Here is a link to the library instructional video on how to do the 10-Topic Library Exercise https://wichita.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=a976fc3b-ba70-4b76-a0b5-ad8a01320cdee

Databases Used to Do 10-Topic Library Exercise

Use these two databases to complete the 10-Topic Library Exercise. You may also use them to find an article in a scholarly journal for the Jounal Article Review Exercise. These databases are also linked in the Databases A-Z list on the library's home page.

General Instructions for 10-Topic Library Exercise

One of the library assignments is to complete a 10-topic exercise in searching online databases for scholarly article citations. A link to the assignment is in the box to the left. Instructions for doing the assignment are as follows:

  1. Use one of two online databases -- Anthropology Plus or Social Sciences Full-Text.
  2. Find a citation to a scholarly article for each of the 10 topics listed in the assignment.
  3. Copy the full citation including the author and title of the article and journal name, volume, date, and page numbers. Also include the name of the online database used to find the citation.
  4. Repeat for each topic.
  5. There is no strict formatting imposed, but please be neat.
  6. Save your copied citations to a pdf file and upload the file on Blackboard.
  7. An example of a copied citation from Social Sciences Full-Text is found in the left hand column of this page.

REMINDERS

  • Scholarly article citations only. No books, book chapters, book reviews, brief communications, interviews, etc.
  • Use keywords when searching online databases. Don't forget to truncate keywords, if appropriate. For example for topic #1, enter speech and neandert*, not speech of neandertals.

For detailed information on using the databases to find scholarly articles on a particular topic, see below.

Beginning Steps

  • Click on the name of the database either from this library guide or in the Databases A-Z list.
  • If you are on campus, you will access the database immediately.
  • If you are off-campus and a WSU faculty, staff, or student, you will need to enter your WSU ID and password to access the database.
  • Once you are in the database, click on "Basic Search" to bring up a single search box in which to enter your search terms.
  • Enter your search terms and hit "Search". 

Go to the boxes below for helpful hints on selecting your search terms and devising a search strategy.

Select Your Search Terms

Before entering your terms in the search box, think about your terms and search strategy.

  • Identify the separate concepts that make up your topic: 
          neanderthals, teeth

     
  • Make a list of search terms for each concept. Put phrases in quotation marks. Include synonyms, related terms, and terms that may be broader or narrower:
          neanderthals
          tooth, teeth, dental, dentition

Conduct a Search in a Database

Using your search terms and search strategy, search for articles in the databases.

  • Enter your search terms in the search box.
     
  • If available, click on the box next to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals or Peer-Reviewed, depending on the database, to limit  your search to scholarly journals only.

    Important: The database, Anthropology Plus, does not provide a way to limit to scholarly journals since most of its content is scholarly in nature. The other database, Social Sciences Full-Text, has a box that can be checked to limit your search to scholarly journals.

     
  • If the search is successful, the database will provide lists of citations that match your topic. Citations will include article title, authors, journal title, volume and issue numbers, etc. Some databases there will be a summary or abstract of the content of the article in the citation record.
     
  • Sometimes a database will provide a direct link to the full-text of the article beneath the citation. If there is not a direct link to the full-text, nearly all databases will provide a link to a screen that allows you check for alternative full-text and/or print, and a link to an Interlibrary Loan request form if the library can not provide a link to the full-text article. For more information on locating the full-text article, go the Locate the Article box below.

Devise Your Search Strategy

Based on your list of search terms, devise your search strategy:

  • Use boolean operator OR to tell the computer to search for all the terms at the same time, thereby broadening your search:

                                                " "
                                teeth or tooth or dentition or dental

  •  Use boolean operator AND to tell the computer to restrict retrieval to both concepts, thereby narrowing your search:

                                                 " "
                                                 chimpanzees and tools

  • Use a truncation symbol such as an asterisk (*) to broaden your search to include variants of a term including singulars and plurals.
    neandert* will retrieve neanderthal, neanderthals, neandertal, neandertals
    dent* will retrieve dental, dendition

     
  • Use parentheses to group terms combined using OR
    (teeth or tooth)

 

Examples of search statements with AND statement, OR statement, truncation, and parentheses.

         neandert* and (tooth or teeth or dent*)
         chimp* and tool*
 

Locating Full-Text of an Article

Once you have located an article citation in one of the databases, you may be interested in linking to the full-text, if available.

  • If there is a PDF Full Text link, click on it to access the article.
  • If there is a Linked Full Text link, click on it to access the article.
  • If neither the above links are provided, click on WSU Full Text Finder or 360 Link to Full Text to see if we have it in full-text in another database or location.
  • If the 360 Link directs you to a page that says the online full-text is not available, consider requesting the article through Interlibrary Loan. First click on the "Search the WSU Libraries catalog" button to see if the article is available in print. If not, click on the "Request item from another library" button to access Tipasa, our Interlibrary Loan system. Login with your WSUID@wichita.edu and password. Most of the article citation information will appear in a form. Fill in your WSU ID, Status, Department (or Major), and then click on the blue "Submit Request" button. It is relatively easy and quick to request an article from a database once you get the hang of it, and when you submit the request, you will receive the article very quickly -- often within a couple of hours!

Important Note: You do not need to find the full-text of articles used in the 10-topic Library Exercise or the 3 additional citations related to the Journal Article Review Exercise. The only full-text you need to find is for the article you are reviewing for the Journal Article Review Exercise.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers