ANTH 335 Archaeology of North America

Also available in print: E159.5 .A68 2009
Leading scholars, most with an intimate knowledge of the area, have written in-depth essays on over 300 of the most important archaeological sites that explain the importance of the site, the history of the people who left the artifacts, and the nature of the ongoing research. Archaeology in America divides it coverage into 8 regions: the Arctic and Subarctic, the Great Basin and Plateau, the Great Plains and Rocky Mountains, the Midwest, the Northeast, the Southeast, the Southwest, and the West Coast. Each entry provides readers with an accessible overview of the archaeological site as well as books and articles for further research. Also available in print: E159.5 .A68 2009

Includes lists of sites by regions and provides citations to site reports in brief entries under the site name. For example, the Hagen site in Montana is listed under the Plains region, a site report is referenced in the brief article on the site, and a quick title search of the Online Catalog found the report in our holdings under the call number, H31 .M73 no.1, 1976

Unique collection of over 1200 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy and theology. The contributions are authored by over 300 internationally renowned experts, professors and scholars from some of the most distinguished museums, universities and institutes in the world. This groundbreaking Encyclopedia is a must-have reference work for any library with collections in anthropology, as well as the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities. It provides students, academics and a wide range of interested readers with a greater understanding of, and deeper appreciation for, those facts, concepts, methods, hypotheses and perspectives that make up modern anthropology and related disciplines. Also available in print at GN11 .E63 2006

Organized by cultural tradition, e.g. Northern Plains Village, Early Eastern Archaic, Middle Eastern Woodland, etc. Important sites are listed as well as references to selected site reports that can be checked for availability in the Online Catalog.

Alphabetical listing of major prehistoric cultures and archaeological sites. Also alphabetical listing of major sites by geographical area. Includes brief site descriptions. References to site reports are included which can then be checked for availability in the Online Catalog.

The second edition of The Oxford Companion to Archaeology is a thoroughly up-to-date resource with new entries exploring the many advances in the field since the first edition published in 1996. In 700 entries, the second edition provides thorough coverage to historical archaeology, thedevelopment of archaeology as a field of study, and the way the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to these theoretical entries, other entries describe the major excavations, discoveries, and innovations, from the discovery of the cave paintings at Lascaux to the deciphering ofEgyptian hieroglyphics and the use of luminescence dating. Recent developments in methods and analytical techniques which have revolutionized the ways excavations are performed are also covered; as well as new areas within archeology, such as cultural tourism; and major new sites which have expanded our understanding of prehistory and human developments through time.

This volume explores 15,000 years of indigenous human history on the North American continent, drawing on the latest archaeological theories, time-honored methodologies, and rich datasets. From the Arctic south to the Mexican border and east to the Atlantic Ocean, all of the major cultural developments are covered in 53 chapters, with certain periods, places, and historical problems receiving special focus by the volume's authors. Questions like who first peopled the continent, what did it mean to have been a hunter-gatherer in the Great Basin versus the California coast, how significant were cultural exchanges between Native North Americans and Mesoamericans, and why do major historical changes seem to correspond to shifts in religion, politics, demography, and economy are brought into focus. The practice of archaeology itself is discussed as contributors wrestle with modern-day concerns with the implications of doing archaeology and its relevance for understanding ourselves today. In the end, the chapters in this book show us that the principal questions answered about human history through the archaeology of North America are central to any larger understanding of the relationships between people, cultural identities, landscapes, and the living of everyday life.