WSU faculty, staff, and students will be prompted for their WSU ID and password when accessing ebooks in the major collections and eReference from off-campus. If you have any problems with off-campus access, please contact "Ask a Librarian" at the top of the right hand column.
This guide was created by Cathy Moore-Jansen, WSU Libraries. It was modeled after the University of Pittsburg libguide on ebooks.
WSU Libraries Online Catalog
Limit initial search statement to "ebooks' under Add Filter.
WSU Libraries SmartSearch
Limit search results to "ebooks" under Source Type.
WSU Libraries Ebook Portal
Search ebooks by title or browse by title or subject.
epub
open ebook standard created by the Intl. Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF) with reflowable text, inline images, and the ability to use Digital Rights Management (DRM) such as Adobe Digital Editions
azw
Amazon's proprietary DRM restricted format
PDF
document sharing format created in the early 90s with highly formatted content and ability to use DRM with Adobe Digital Editions.
mobi
format primarily designed for PDAs and older mobile devices. Also used on the Kindle.
irf
Sony's proprietary formats (LRF, LRS, LRX) superseded by Sony's acceptance of epub as the default format
WSU Libraries have many ebooks available to students, faculty, and staff through our web site. These ebooks are in databases as well as as individual titles. They cover many disciplines including business, education, engineering, health sciences, information technology, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Ebooks are all full-text and can be read online through a regular web browser. Some ebooks can be downloaded to mobile devices such as iPADS, Android devices, and Kindle Fires.
What is an ebook?
An electronic book (also referred to "e-book", "ebook", "eBook", "digital book") is a monograph made available in a digital format and designed to be read online. Many ebooks preserve the print book's original layout and design. They can be read and often downloaded on computers, laptops, tablets, PDAs, mobile devices such as iPAD and Android iphones, and dedicated e-book readers such as the Nook, Sony Reader, or Kindle Fire using freely available ebook software.
Why ebooks?
WSU Libraries will continue to purchase print books as only 30% of published books are currently available as ebooks. However, the Libraries will increasingly purchase ebooks when available because they can be accessed 24/7 by faculty and students; provide powerful search tools for locating information; and often have special features than can help users create automatic citations, highlight text, take notes, and print portions of text.
How do I access ebooks at WSU Libraries?
Our ebook collections are avilable for free to WSU students, faculty, and staff 24/7. Individual ebooks can be found by searching the Online Catalog and Discovery Service (SmartSearch) that are linked from the library's home page. You may also access ebooks through links to specific ebook collections that are available from the Electronic Books link on the home page; from the tabs (Major Collections, eReference, and Free Ebooks) at the top of this guide, and from the A-Z listing of Electronic Databases on the home page. If off-campus, you will be asked to enter your WSU ID and password before accessing purchased ebooks.
Using a mobile device or ereader?
Click on the Ebook Devices and Software tab for information on compatible portable devices as well as downloading and printing options for selected ebook collections. There are also links to support sites for e-readers such as Nook and Sony Reader and links to software needed to download ebooks, e.g. Adobe Digital Editions, Bluefire Reader, etc.
