LibGuides: WSU 102 Culture, Health, and Medicine: Find Articles

Smartsearch

SmartSearch This link opens in a new window
SmartSearch is a “discovery” tool that allows you to search across numerous databases and full-text resources from one place. Included in this search query are major databases, as well as full-text journals and e-journals to provide you with one-stop searching.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Using the following databases will help you find citations to articles from scholarly journals. When using a database, limit your search to "peer reviewed" and/or "scholarly journals", if possible, so that your search results will include only citations from scholarly journals. Most databases allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals. Some databases such as Anthropology Plus and JSTOR are made up entirely of scholarly journals, so limiting your search is not necessary.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, essays, and chapters from journals, serials, and edited works in all fields of anthropology. Compiled by the Tozzer Library at Harvard University. Coverage: Late 19th century-present. 10 simultaneous users shared with KSU & KU
Terms of Use
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Terms of Use
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text from thousands of biomedical journals published worldwide in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1966-present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Article citations and abstracts from over 600 periodicals and scholarly journals in all areas of the social sciences. Includes full-text access to some journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1995-present. 99 simultaneous users.
Terms of Use

Off-Campus Access

Only WSU faculty, staff, and students have access to resources marked with a Restricted to current WSU students, faculty & staff from off-campus; they will be prompted for their WSU ID and password to gain access.

WSU 102 Culture, Health, and Medicine

Can't Find the Full Text of an Article?

Verifying A Journal Is Scholarly

Your Librarian

Smartsearch

Finding Scholarly Articles

Off-Campus Access