First-year Seminar, We Are What We Eat: An Anthropology of Food

The ASFS was founded in 1985, with the goal of promoting the interdisciplinary study of food and society.

The Center for Food and Culture was established to bring together resources, organizations, and individuals involved in food research, study, appreciation, activism, production, and consumption in recognition that food connects us all.

Online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes 76 cookbooks from the MSU Libraries' collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions. The aim of the online collection is to highlight an important part of America's cultural heritage for teachers, students, researchers investigating American social history, professional chefs, and lifelong learners of all ages.

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger and improve nutrition and food security. Its Latin motto, fiat panis, translates to "let there be bread". It was founded in October 1945.

The scope of the Food and Foodways collection of archived websites is broad, reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of food studies. The collection provides an inclusive space for food-related sites proposed by nominators from a wide spectrum of subject areas and specialties. Because food intersects with our lives in so many ways, this collection includes sites that relate to food through a variety of lenses, including culture, science, history, policy, health, business, agriculture, and technology. The sites represent various organizations and non-profits, government agencies, and food-related projects–as well as food bloggers and individual chefs, scholars, educators and farmers. Websites in the collection focus on food systems, recipes, food history, food waste, sustainability, foodways of various diaspora and geographic areas–and more.

The Food Museum celebrates food, exploring its history, heritage, and cultural influence worldwide.

Ever wonder how the ancient Romans fed their armies? What the pioneers cooked along the Oregon Trail? Who invented the potato chip...and why? Food history presents a fascinating buffet of popular lore and contradictory facts. Some experts say it's impossible to express this topic in exact timeline format. They are correct. Most foods are not invented; they evolve. Lynne Oliver created the Food Timeline in 1999 (see the "about this site" below). In 2020, Virginia Tech University Libraries and the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences (CLAHS) collaborated on a plan to offer Virginia Tech as a new home for the physical book collection and the web resource.

"Not by Bread Alone" explores the influences and inventions that have shaped American food habits over the past two hundred years. On view in the Carl A. Kroch Library from June 6 to October 4, 2002, the exhibition highlights rare books, photographs, menus, and other early documents that trace the history of gastronomy in America.

Through research, collections, exhibitions, and programs, the American Food History Project at the National Museum of American History invites everyone to join the conversation about food history and why it matters. By exploring diverse and compelling stories of American food history, we can discover together the roles we play in understanding the past and shaping the future of food.

The Society for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition (SAFN), formerly known as the Council on Nutritional Anthropology (CNA), was organized in 1974 in response to the increased interest in the interface between social sciences and human nutrition.

The Southern Foodways Alliance documents, studies, and explores the diverse food cultures of the changing American South.