LibGuides: ME 702 Energy and Sustainability: Finding Articles

Types of Sources

Do you need a primary source? Primary sources include schematic drawings, standards, and patents. In engineering, most scholarly journal articles are considered to be primary sources. Researchers may want to start with tertiary or secondary sources for background information before using primary sources. Learning more about a topic will help most researchers make better use of primary sources. Learn more about primary, scholarly and tertiary sources on the Types of Sources guide.

Databases of Interest

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to ASME's Transaction Journals back to 1960, conference proceedings back to 2002, and select ASME Press eBooks back to 1963. WSU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals, proceedings, or ebooks available in this collection.
CRC Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CRCnetBASE offers instant access to the world's premier scientific, technical and medical eBook references. Current collection includes the following subject areas: ergonomics, industrial engineering, mechanical engineering, health care.
Terms of Use

Note: Vendor recommends viewing in the latest version of the Firefox web browser.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) provides access to the IEEE core collection of engineering, electronics, and computer science periodicals. Including 174 IEEE online society-sponsored journals, transactions, and magazines; peer-reviewed publications, concentrating on theoretical and experimental papers; quality magazines focusing on practical applications in research, design, and specification; backfiles to 2005; and INSPEC abstract/citation and bibliographic records.
Terms of Use

IEEE can be accessed from off campus with your mobile device. The instructions on how to do this can be found at http://libraries.wichita.edu/remoteaccess.
IEEE now has an IEEE Xplore Image Search App for iPads. It contains over 1 million images from IEEE journals which can be browsed or searched then saved or emailed. Authorized users can access full text articles and download them to their iPad. The free download is available in the App store: http://bit.ly/1c60lFH
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the tables of contents of over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier, with strong collections in the sciences, social sciences, engineering, and medicine. Full-text access to articles is available for over 100 journals subscribed to by WSU and over 150 open access journals.
Terms of Use
To link to ILLiad from Science Direct, click on the article title, then “360 Link to Full-Text”, and then “Submit Request”.
Instructions for eBook Downloading
As of January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Terms of Use