News and Journal Articles - FYEN 102P - FYS: Imagining Climate Change

Using Smart Search at the University Libraries

What is SmartSearch?

SmartSearch is a discovery search tool that allows users to search multiple databases and the library's online catalog to find the books, journal articles, news sources, videos, and other items. For a more concentrated search, it is beneficial to search electronic databases that are relevant to your chosen topic individually.

When using SmartSearch, results may be refined by:

Source type (books, academic journals, magazines, trade publications, news, etc.)
Peer reviewed articles
Date

Article Databases

International Newspaper Databases

For a complete list of the WSU Libraries news resources see the Newspapers Research Guide

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive news collection of local, regional, national, and international topics. Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers including the Wichita Eagle.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Terms of Use

Scholarly Databases for Academic Research

Multi-Subject Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use

Environmental Research

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the way humans affect the environment. Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Indexes scholarly and popular periodicals as well as government documents and reports

Literature Research

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film.