ENGL 503: American Literature I

Provides access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century. It is based on the bibliographies by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol and by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and has been expanded with holdings from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund
Terms of Use

Digital archive of sources related to Westward expansion from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Note: Access to this resource is provided through the generous support of the Betty Holmer and Leo O. and Maud Swaim Morgan families.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. Terms of Use

Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2013

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) It is a collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.
Terms of Use

This collection provides a wide-ranging and in depth look at the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, mainland Europe and Asia during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Personal diaries, letters, travel journals and scrapbooks are supplemented by original maps, watercolours, engravings, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide significant context to these eye-witness accounts. Included within the collection are also documents from the late-eighteenth century discussing the early stages of emigration and mid-twentieth century photographs showing the immigration process.
Terms of Use

Two collections within ProQuest History Vault are relevant to this class: American Indians in the West and Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War. Contains documents including articles, correspondence, government records, and more.

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs, to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war. Users can see and compare, for the first time, the writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, seamen, and spies. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving both the Northern and the Southern perspectives, along with that of foreign observers. Terms of Use

Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century. The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: the Institution of Slavery, and part IV: Emancipation. It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, Supreme Court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more.
Terms of Use

Collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th into the 20th century. Including diverse manuscripts; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.
Terms of Use