Geographic focus: Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Brooklyn, and North Carolina. Personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, oral histories, photographs, postcards, maps and ephemera.
Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps, newspapers, photographs and travel journals. Dates range from earliest contact with European settlers to the Civil Rights movement.
A platform that allows searching across all of Gale primary source collections. Collections include: 19th Century UK Periodicals, The Economist Historical Archive, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Indigenous Peoples: North America, Making of the Modern World, Ninteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana 1500-1926, and the Times Digital Archive
Digital Archives related to Communications
Digitized archival materials publicly available online
An all-digital library that aggregates metadata — or information describing an item — and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955, concentrating on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
The Moving Image Archive within the Internet Archive provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by Archive users, and ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Special Collections in Mass Media and Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The collection spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
The project includes comprehensive, full-life interviews with women journalists—from pioneers of early women’s journalism, to champions of civil rights, to celebrities in the world of broadcast television—who have made significant contributions to society through careers in journalism since the 1920s.