LING 590M/ENGL 580AF: Languages and Language Attitudes in the U.S.

Provides online access to newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. It features over 300 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Terms of Use

Digital archive of sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Note: Access to this resource is provided through the generous support of the Betty Holmer and Leo O. and Maud Swaim Morgan families.
Terms of Use

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. Terms of Use

Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century. The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: the Institution of Slavery, and part IV: Emancipation. It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, Supreme Court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more.
Terms of Use

Asian American Drama is an online text collection that brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. Terms of Use