Geographic focus: Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Brooklyn, and North Carolina. Personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, oral histories, photographs, postcards, maps and ephemera.
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. Browse through treaties, speeches and diaries, historic maps, newspapers, photographs and travel journals.
Black Studies Center is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Terms of Use
Border and Migration Studies Online helps students and researchers understand today’s world through primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries. Terms of Use
Articles, correspondence, and government records documenting 18th-20th centuries. Includes content from American Indians in the West, Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, and Women's Studies.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Primary Source Websites
Original documents, records, and historical artifacts related to Immigration and Incarceration
This website is a searchable directory for online projects that can help further Black History research. This ongoing project was created to collect information about these digital projects in order to benefit genealogists and historians who are researching the lives of Black individuals and families.
This link will take you to primary documents on Latinx history and culture. The DPLA covers many aspects of US history; adjust filters to view other content.
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. University of Arizona Libraries.
The KADA brings together documents, photographs and sound files that document the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.
Photographs and documents that capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor, and immigration. Urban Archive of the Oviatt Library.
Provides access to two significant newspapers which tell the story of Japanese immigration and Japanese American community life in Seattle and beyond, from 1902 to 1950, and continuing to the present day. The newspapers, North American Times (1902-1942) and North American Post (1946-1950), were published primarily in Japanese, with occasional, and then regularly appearing, pages published in English. Translation summaries (English) are provided for some front page stories.
This link opens in a new window
