LibGuides: Wichita State Common Read 2020: Some Were Paupers, Some Were Kings: Related Materials

Related Readings and Materials

Hattiesburg by William Sturkey
Call Number: F349.H36 S78 2019
ISBN: 9780674976351
Publication Date: 2019
How We Fight White Supremacy by Akiba Solomon; Kenrya Rankin
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781568588506
Publication Date: 2019
The Coddling of the American Mind by Jonathan Haidt; Greg Lukianoff
Call Number: JC599.U5 L85 2018
ISBN: 9780735224896
Publication Date: 2018
Blackness Is Burning by TreaAndrea M. Russworm
Call Number: E185.625 .R87 2016
ISBN: 0814340512
Publication Date: 2016

The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion
Call Number: PS3554.I33 Z63 2005
ISBN: 140004314X
Publication Date: 2005
The Other Side of Sadness by George A. Bonanno
Call Number: BF575.G7 B66 2009
ISBN: 9780465013609
Publication Date: 2009
How to be a Failure and Still Live Well: A Philosophy by Beverley Clack
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781350030701
Publication Date: 2020
Option B by Sheryl Sandberg; Adam Grant
Call Number: BF575.G7 S256 2017
ISBN: 9781524732684
Publication Date: 2017

Power in Close Relationships by Christopher R. Agnew (Editor); Jennifer J. Harman (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781107192614
Publication Date: 2019
Direct Work with Family Groups by Audrey Tait; Helen Wosu
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780857009869
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Positive Emotions by Michele M. Tugade (Editor); Michelle N. Shiota (Editor); Leslie D. Kirby (Editor); Barbara L. Fredrickson (Foreword by)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781462514298
Publication Date: 2014
Human Communication in Society by Jess K. Alberts; Thomas K. Nakayama; Judith N. Martin
Call Number: HM1206 .A43 2016
ISBN: 9780134126920
Publication Date: 2015

Race and Social Problems by Ralph Bangs (Editor); Larry E. Davis (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781493908639
Publication Date: 2014
A Portrait of America by John Iceland
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780520959101
Publication Date: 2014
Race, Work, and Leadership by Laura Morgan Roberts; Anthony J. Mayo; David A. Thomas
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781633698017
Publication Date: 2019
Brown Enough by Ken Ohm
Call Number: PS3615.H578 B76 2018
ISBN: 9781722133559
Publication Date: 2018
Black Liberation and the American Dream by Paul Le Blanc (Editor)
Call Number: E185.615 .B542 2017
ISBN: 1608467856
Publication Date: 2017

Sample Searches

"civil rights" AND social condition

grief OR loss

communication AND close relationship AND family AND "social work"

racism OR prejudice AND social perspective AND race

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources as well as audio files from NPR and other news programs. Comprehensive and multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1980-present.
Terms of Use
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected with coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Terms of Use
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers.
Terms of Use
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and audiovisual presentations related to criminal and juvenile justice, substance abuse, and drug control. Coverage: 1970-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literature in sociology & related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Coverage: 1974 to the present.
Terms of Use