LibGuides: ENGL 703: Seminar in American Literature I: Secondary Research

Literary Databases

These databases are very useful for finding secondary research (criticism and theory) about literature. Search for the title of the book, the author, and/or a keyword such as "insanity" or "captivity narratives".

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1963. Special features include the full text of the original article for some citations and a collection of images consisting of photographs, maps, and flags.
Terms of Use
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. 5 simultaneous users Terms of Use
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text library of poetry and prose fiction from almost every period and genre of English literature. Includes full-text literary criticism and reference sources. Coverage: 7th century-present. 4 simultaneous users
Terms of Use
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Terms of Use

Additional Databases

These databases will be useful when searching for secondary research related to the time period or historical movement. JSTOR in particular includes journal issues back to the very first issue (limit your search to the decade(s) after an event happened to see what was written about it at that particular time).

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For Optimal Performance, use Firefox or Edge. Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use