Skip to Main Content

Linguistics

Reference Books

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by David Crystal
Call Number: P29 .C64 1997

Publication Date: 1997
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by P. H. Matthews
Publication Date: 2014

Click title for ebook
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by David Crystal
Publication Date: 2008

Click title for ebook
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media and Communication by Marcel Danesi (Editor)
Call Number: P87.5 .D36 2000

Publication Date: 2000
Ethnologue: Languages of the World by M. Paul Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: P371 .E83 2009

Publication Date: 2009
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by William J. Frawley (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003

Click title for ebook
The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Analysis by Bernd Heine (Editor); Heiko Narrog (Editor)
Call Number: P126 .O94 2010

Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Handbook of Linguistic Anthropology by N. J. Enfield (Editor); Paul Kockelman (Editor); Jack Sidnell (Editor)
Call Number: P35 .C25 2014

Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford Handbook of Taboo Words and Language by Keith Allan (Editor)
Call Number: P305.18.T33 O94 2019

Publication Date: 2019

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary
Online edition of accepted authority and guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. Provides comprehensive etymological analysis and listing of variant spellings while tracing the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations.

Last Updated: Aug 12, 2025 5:18 PM
URL: https://libraries.wichita.edu/linguistics
Print Page

Subjects: English

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Box 68, Wichita, KS, 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions |

Instagram