Linguistics

Provides online access to newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. It features over 300 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Terms of Use

This collection includes Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Series I & II Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1819; and Series I, II & III Supplements from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1819. Terms of Use

Provides access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century. It is based on the bibliographies by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol and by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and has been expanded with holdings from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society. Terms of Use

This collection includes part I & II. Digital images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Access to full text of books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, and pamphlets in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Terms of Use

Food Studies Online is a first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table. Terms of Use

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund
Terms of Use

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries is the largest electronic collection of women’s diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it presents the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Complementing Alexander Street’s British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, the database is ideal for research in women’s studies, history, sociology, literature, genealogy, and other fields. Terms of Use

Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2013
Terms of Use

Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends. Terms of Use