LibGuides: Digital Arts: Finding Articles/Videos/Career Resources

To Find Articles, Search Some Selected Databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information on game design and filmmaking.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Terms of Use
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides research in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Terms of Use
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Terms of Use
Gale Academic OneFile Select (Formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General database that indexes scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images -- across all disciplines.
Terms of Use
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) provides access to the IEEE core collection of engineering, electronics, and computer science periodicals. Including 174 IEEE online society-sponsored journals, transactions, and magazines; peer-reviewed publications, concentrating on theoretical and experimental papers; quality magazines focusing on practical applications in research, design, and specification; backfiles to 2005; and INSPEC abstract/citation and bibliographic records.
Terms of Use

IEEE can be accessed from off campus with your mobile device. The instructions on how to do this can be found at http://libraries.wichita.edu/remoteaccess.
IEEE now has an IEEE Xplore Image Search App for iPads. It contains over 1 million images from IEEE journals which can be browsed or searched then saved or emailed. Authorized users can access full text articles and download them to their iPad. The free download is available in the App store: http://bit.ly/1c60lFH
Music Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles, book reviews, and dissertations in music. Coverage: 1979-present.
Terms of Use
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For Optimal Performance, use Firefox or Edge. Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Terms of Use

Library Resources for Streamed Videos:

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive video collection that delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. It includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. It has award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Terms of Use
60 Minutes: 1997-2014, American History in Video, Art and Architecture in Video, Asian Film Online (Volumes * & II), Black Studies in Video, Business Education in Video, Classical Music in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III), Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Current Affairs in Video, Dance in Video (Volumes I & II), Education in Video (Volumes I & II), Environmental Studies in Video, Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I-III), Fashion STudies Online, Filmakers Library Online (Volumes I-III), Health and Society in Video, Latin American in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, The March of Time, Meet the Press, new World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Opera in Video, BBC Video Collection, PBS Video Collect (2nd Ed), Silent Film Online, Theatre in Video (Volumes I & II), Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy, World History in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Includes the Master Academic Collection and the FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection.
Terms of Use
Sony Pictures Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming collection of over 300 Sony films from 1992 to 2015, including world cinema. The collection features a strong emphasis on documentary. Films in the catalog have received more than 133 Academy Award® nominations, with 33 wins, including thirteen awards for Best Foreign Language Film and four awards for Best Documentary Feature. Terms of Use
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming movie service providing box-office hits, independent features, documentaries, international movies, and classics.

Click here for: even more options on the Library Guide for Video Resources

Career Resources:

Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Terms of Use

Shocker Career Accelerator
The Shocker Career Accelerator at Wichita State University offers a variety of programs and services to assist in the achievement of career goals.
Careers and Employment at Wichita State University
Links and WSU resources relating to career exploration.
WSU Libraries Guide to Career and Employment Information

The Professional Actor's Handbook by Julio Agustin; Kathleen Potts (As told to)
Call Number: PN2061 .A48 2017
ISBN: 9781442277724
The Professional Actor's Handbook provides individuals with strategies that will help them successfully negotiate every stage of their careers.

Can't Find It In Our Library?

Try Interlibrary Loan!

Log in HERE or through the link below, with your myWSU ID and password to request a book, article, or video. Materials take 3-5 days on average and are sent to Ablah Library for you to pick up. It's free!

Digital Arts

Your Librarian

Want to Find More? Search the WSU Online Catalog!

Ask A Librarian

Some ebook titles

To Find Articles, Search Some Selected Databases:

Library Resources for Streamed Videos:

Career Resources:

Can't Find It In Our Library?