The Internet Archive has teamed up with etree.org to preserve and archive as many live concerts as possible for current and future generations to enjoy. All music in this Collection is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution.
Over 33,000 clips from across the world from the past 100 years.
Can't Find It In Our Library?
Try Interlibrary Loan!
Log in HERE or through the link below, with your myWSU ID and password to request a book, article, or video. Materials take 3-5 days on average and are sent to Ablah Library for you to pick up. It's free!
Call Number: ML3790 .S68 2016 at the Reserve Desk in Ablah Library
The art and evolution of music recording is one of the 20th century’s great untold stories. Executive Produced by legendary Beatles producer Sir George Martin, this eight-part series combines more than 150 original interviews with rare archival studio footage—and an extensive soundtrack featuring almost 300 songs—to explore the extraordinary impact of recorded music on our lives.
This is an introductory text for students of sound and vibration as well as electrical and electronic engineering, civil and mechanical engineering, computer science, signals and systems, and engineering physics. A basic knowledge of basic engineering mathematics and physics is assumed. This book covers the physical background to and mathematical treatment of sound propagation, the properties of human hearing, the generation and radiation of sound as well as noise control, and the technologies used for pickup, recording, and reproduction of sound in various environments, and much more.
This book is a reference for technical careers in the recording studio. Real-world advice for aspiring recording engineer / producers. Contains first-hand stories and advice from the top engineers and studio managers in the United States, along with descriptions of the various technical jobs that are available in the recording industry.
Audio Production and Critical Listening: Technical Ear Training, Second Edition develops your critical and expert listening skills, enabling you to listen to audio like an award-winning engineer. Featuring an accessible writing style, this book includes information on objective measurements of sound, technical descriptions of signal processing, and their relationships to subjective impressions of sound. It also includes information on hearing conservation, ear plugs, and listening levels, as well as bias in the listening process.
This volume provides practical and accessible information detailing the production processes for recording today’s bands. By demonstrating how to "get the sound right at the source," author Peter Dowsett lays the appropriate framework to discuss the technical requirements of optimizing the sound of a source. Through its coverage of critical listening, pre-production, arrangement, drum tuning, gain staging and many other areas of music production, "Audio Production Tips" allows you to build the wide array of skills that apply to the creative process of music production.
Creative Sequencing Techniques for Music Production shows readers how to get the most out of four of the leading audio sequencers - Apple's Logic Pro, Avid's Pro Tools, MOTU's Digital Performer, and Steinberg's Cubase, and is the book for readers looking to build their skills in composition, orchestration, and mixing using software tools.
This is a look at the history, techniques, movements and people who create the magic of motion pictures, investigating the various types of sound, how they are recorded, and how they are incorporated in a film.
Singers and band members get all the attention, but the technicians and producers who work inside a recording studio are just as important to the creation of a great song. This program introduces viewers to the experts and equipment at the heart of a sound studio. Topics include acoustics, soundproofing, pitch and frequency, microphones, the mixing console, multi-track recording, and the overall significance of the control room. Interviews with professional sound recordists, mixers, and musicians include material on ProTools and other sound design software, the transition from valve to solid state circuits, and other subjects familiar to industry insiders.
This title is a guide to recording dialog on location. The topics include audio basics, microphone selection, wireless systems, recording and mixing techniques, and the Ten Location Sound Commandments.
This manual on the art and science of creating well-mastered recordings covers fundamentals, from the history of mastering to prepping your mix, learning the tools of mastering, the mechanics of the mastering process, and the details you'll need to know when mastering for a variety of output media, including CD, vinyl, online, and more.
This book covers the fundamentals, breaking the mixing process down into understandable elements, including the variety of mixing styles, the six elements of a mix, the rules for arrangement, how to build a mix, and etc..
Whether you're just starting out or are looking for a step-up in the industry, Modern Recording Techniques provides an in-depth read on the art and technologies of music production. It's a must-have reference for all audio bookshelves.
How hearing works and how the brain processes sounds entering the ear to provide the listener with useful information are of great interest to psychologists, cognitive scientists, and musicians. This field, known as psychoacoustics, is given an introductory coverage here.
Here are practical, time-saving ways to get better recordings, solve problems with existing audio, create compelling tracks, and boost your filmmaking to the next level. Guidelines for every aspect of your soundtrack: planning and budgeting, field and studio recording, editing, sound effects and music, audio repair, processing, and mixing.
This eight-part series combines more than 150 original interviews with rare archival studio footage—and an extensive soundtrack featuring almost 300 songs—to explore the extraordinary impact of recorded music on our lives.
Sound for Film and Television provides a thorough introduction to the fascinating field of recording, editing, mixing, and exhibiting film and television sound. It strikes a balance between aesthetic and technical content, combining theory and practice to approach sound as both an art and a science.
Find here an explanation of the physical and perceptual processes that are involved in sound reproduction and demonstration how to use the processes to create high-quality listening experiences in stereo and multichannel formats.
The Ultimate Guide to Music Recording takes a unique approach, giving readers two books in one: a concise, tutorial audio engineering text in Part One, and then a 'cut to the chase', how to record any instrument fast guide in Part Two.
"Working With Audio" provides readers with a fundamental understanding of the principles, technology, and techniques of audio production. This book covers the basics of audio production techniques in radio, TV, music, and new media, with special emphasis on the fundamentals of sound and recording, acoustics, equipment, editing, mixing, and much more. Because the material is not medium-specific, readers can apply the techniques learned to sound production in any of the major audio and audio/visual media.