Skip to Main Content

CJ 407: Introduction to Research Methods

Reference Sources

The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice by Mark S. Davis
Publication Date: 2002
Click title for eBook
SAGE Dictionary of Criminology by Eugene McLaughlin (Editor); John Muncie (Editor)
Call Number: HV6017 .S24 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Dictionary of Policing by Tim Newburn (Editor); Peter Neyroud (Editor)
Call Number: HV8195.A2 D53 2008eb
Publication Date: 2009
Available as print and eBook

The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by Jay S. Albanese (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780470670286
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by David Weisburd (Editor); Gerben Bruinsma (Editor)
ISBN: 1461456916
Publication Date: 2013-10-11
Click title to access ebook. Then you will need to select "Click here for electronic book." Then you will need to use the link for the SECOND encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Criminology by J. Mitchell Miller (Editor); Richard A. Wright (Editor)
Call Number: HV6017 .E5295 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The Routledge Companion to Criminological Theory and Concepts by Avi Brisman (Editor); Eamonn Carrabine (Editor); Nigel South (Editor)
Call Number: HV6018 .R686 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Crime and Punishment in America by Laura L. Finley (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
Click title to access ebook.
World of Criminal Justice by Shirelle Phelps (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
Click on title to access ebook.
Encyclopedia of Police Science by Jack Raymond Greene (Editor)
Call Number: HV7901 .E53 2007
Publication Date: 2006
World Police Encyclopedia by Michael J. Palmiotto (Editor); Dilip K. Dass; Das K. Das; Dilip K. Das (Editor)
Call Number: HV7901 .W64 2006
Publication Date: 2005

Oxford Handbook of Criminology by Mike Maguire (Editor); Rod Morgan (Editor); Robert Reiner (Editor)
Call Number: HV6025 .O87 2012
ISBN: 9780199590278
Publication Date: 2012-05-23
Handbook of Digital Forensics and Investigation by Eoghan Casey
ISBN: 9780123742674
Publication Date: 2009-10-26
Click on title to access ebook.
Corrections by William J. Chambliss (Editor); J. Geoffrey Golson (Editor); Golson Books, Ltd. Staff
ISBN: 9781412978569
Publication Date: 2011-05-03
Click on title to access ebook.
Handbook of Correctional Mental Health by Charles L. Scott (Editor)
Call Number: RC451.4.P68 H356 2010
ISBN: 9781585623891
Publication Date: 2009-10-06
How to Work with Sex Offenders by Rudy Flora; Michael L. Keohane
Call Number: HV6556 .F58 2013
ISBN: 9780415523325
Publication Date: 2013-08-09
Juvenile Crime and Justice by William J. Chambliss (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412978583
Publication Date: 2011-05-03
Click on title to access ebook.
Women and Crime by Judith Ann Warner
Call Number: HV6046 .W367 2012
ISBN: 9781598844238
Publication Date: 2012-02-01

FBI: Uniform Crime Reporting
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
National Institute of Justice
Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) - Crime Statistics
Campus Safety and Security (U.S. Dept. of Ed.)
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Includes a broad range of domestic and international crime statistics and policy information.
National Criminal Justice Reference Services

Understanding Crime Statistics by James P. Lynch (Editor); Lynn A. Addington (Editor)
Call Number: HV6787 .U52 2007
ISBN: 9780521862042
Publication Date: 2006-12-04
Interpreting Crime Statistics by Monica Walker
Call Number: HV6946 .I57 1995
ISBN: 0198523068
Publication Date: 1995-06-29
Kansas Quarterly Crime Statistics by Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Call Number: HV6793.K3 K37
Publication Date: Quarterly
Crime in the United States 2013 by Shana Hertz-Hattis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598886238
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Click on title to access ebook.
Bank Crime Statistics (BCS) by United States. Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Call Number: J 1.14/2: C 86/18/
Publication Date: Annual
Crime, prisons, and jails by Melissa J. Doak
ISBN: 9781414433813
Publication Date: 2009-10-02
Click on title to access ebook.

Reference Databases

These databases contain hundreds of reference works on every subject. Try a keyword search for background information on your topic from multiple perspectives.

Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc.
Terms of Use
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 400 reference titles from over 70 publishers covering every major subject. Seamless searching of Credo Reference sources, the WSU Libraries Catalog, and other Libraries subscribed databases.
Terms of Use
Video tour of Credo Reference
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.
Terms of Use
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions |

Instagram