LibGuides: Advanced Education in General Dentistry: Evidence-Based Dentistry

Evidence-Based Dentistry

The American Dental Association defines evidence based dentistry as:

"an approach to oral health care that requires the judicious integration of systematic assessments of clinically relevant scientific evidence, relating to the patient's oral and medical condition and history, with the dentist's clinical expertise and the patient's treatment needs and preferences."

EBD integrates:

the dentist's expertise,

the best available scientific evidence,

and the patient's needs and preferences.

Graphic by Kate McGraw, University of North Carolina

Evidence-based dentistry resources

ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry
The ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry "facilitates access to the best available scientific information related to oral health care, and develops evidence-based resources for use in clinical practice."
Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry
The Centre for Evidence-based Dentistry, established in 1995, is an independent body whose aim is to promote the teaching, learning, practice and evaluation of evidence-based dentistry world-wide.
Cochrane Oral Health Group
The Oral Health Group is one of 50 review groups around the world belonging to The Cochrane Collaboration: an international non-profit and independent organisation, providing up-to-date information about the effects of health care. Oral Health Group reviews and protocols are published on the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) on The Cochrane Library, a regularly updated collection of evidence-based healthcare databases.
Evidence-Based Endodontics Literature Database
The Evidence-based Endodontics Literature Database was developed to provide an "educational evidence tool to help justify historical and current endodontic treatment decisions". Articles are categorized by subject and evidence-based ranking.
Evidence-Based Dentistry Guide
Developed at the Health Sciences Library, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, the site explains what evidence-based dentistry is, addressing the levels of evidence , study types, and the critical appraisal process. A bibliography is provided.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
The NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC contains structured abstracts and links to full text.