Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WSU Reads 2016: Start Something That Matters

Start Something That Matters by Blake Mycoskie is the chosen book for the 2016 WSU Reads. This guide provides more information on the WSU Reads program, the book, and related topics, materials, and initiatives.

Videos Related to Start Something That Matters

Find videos related to the topic of social entrepreneurship, a central theme in Start Something That Matters, in the WSU Libraries Catalog. Videos can also be streamed from the library's databases, Academic Video Online Premium or Films on Demand. A link to these database can be found below.

Sample keyword searches:

  • social entrepreneurship
  • entrepreneurship

Business Model: Riders for Health
Alvin Hall addresses the financial aspects of this humanitarian effort. He addresses the risks that Riders for Health faces and the challenge of role modeling.

Riders for health: Zambia [Video file]. (2010). In Films On Demand. Retrieved April 5, 2016, from fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114315&xtid=43441

Social Entrepreneurs: Grameen Foundation
Social entrepreneurs find innovative solutions to social problems. Grameen Bank provides micro-credit to some of the world's poorest people, empowering them to lift themselves out of poverty.

Community investing [Video file]. (2005). In Films On Demand. Retrieved April 5, 2016, from fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114315&xtid=37188

Find videos related to the topic of social innovation, a central theme in Start Something That Matters, in the WSU Libraries Catalog. Videos can also be streamed from the library's database, Academic Video Online Premium or Films on Demand. A link to the database can be found below.

Sample keyword searches:

  • social innovation
  • innovation

Starbucks: Innovation and Social Responsibility
Social responsibility is the integration of social responsibility into corporate culture. "Doing good is good business" in today's marketplace. Industry experts discuss socially responsible corporations like Starbucks.

The responsibility revolution [Video file]. (2008). In Films On Demand. Retrieved April 5, 2016, from fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114315&xtid=39953

Competitive Advantage Through Social Innovation
Businesses that incorporate knowledge networks, practice communities, and civil society organizations will endure over time. Companies like Clif Bar can attribute much of their success to putting employees and the community first.

The transformation of work [Video file]. (2005). In Films On Demand. Retrieved April 5, 2016, from fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114315&xtid=37200

Find videos related to the topic of community, a central theme in Start Something That Matters, in the WSU Libraries Catalog. Videos can also be streamed from the library's database, Academic Video Online Premium or Films on Demand. A link to the database can be found below.

Sample keyword searches:

  • community
  • community service
  • community AND business AND economics

Community Building
A community builder says building houses isn't enough; bringing community together is necessary. His organization gets communities to take ownership of projects it builds.

Street crime [Video file]. (1999). In Films On Demand. Retrieved April 5, 2016, from fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114315&xtid=9374

Philanthropy and Community Service
High tech creates growing inequities between third and first world countries. Few corporations make a difference in helping the world's poor, but reality tours give high tech workers a better perspective of the world outside of Silicon Valley.

Time frenzy: Keeping up with tomorrow [Video file]. (2000). In Films On Demand. Retrieved April 5, 2016, from fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=114315&xtid=33438

Video Streaming Databases

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers