LibGuides: WSU Reads 2016: Start Something That Matters: Related Articles

Articles Related to Start Something That Matters

ARTICLES

Hemphill, Thomas A., and Francine Cullari. 2014. "The Benefit Corporation: Corporate Governance and the For-profit Social Entrepreneur." Business & Society Review (00453609) 119, no. 4: 519-536. Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (accessed June 8, 2016).

Puumalainen, Kaisu, Helena Sjogren, Pasi Syrja, and Jo Barraket. 2015. "Comparing Social Entrepreneurship across Nations: An Exploratory Study of Institutional Effects." Revue Canadienne des Sciences de l'administration/Canadian Journal of Administrative Sciences 32, no. 4: 276-287. EconLit. EBSCOhost (accessed June 8, 2016).

Find other articles related to the topic of social entrepreneurship, a central theme in Start Something That Matters, in the selected databases below. Note that this list is not a comprehensive list of the library's databases. To find the comprehensive list, click on the link to Electronic Databases on the WSU Libraries homepage. The truncation symbol for each database is the asterisk (*). Use quotation marks to search for phrases.

Sample keyword searches:

"social entrepreneur*"
entrepreneur*
business AND "social aspects"

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text articles from scholarly journals and trade publications in business and economics worldwide. Includes industry information, regional and national newspapers, and full-text access to the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1971-current.
Terms of Use
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from the table of contents pages of journals in business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social sciences, and technology. Dates covered: 1990-present. Terms of Use
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from English language periodicals including leading business magazines and trade and research journals with some full text. Coverage of indexing: 1982-present; full-text: 1995-present.
Terms of Use
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Terms of Use
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Terms of Use

ARTICLES

Martin, Chris J., Paul Upham, and Leslie Budd. 2015. "Commercial Orientation in Grassroots Social Innovation: Insights from the Sharing Economy." Ecological Economics 118, 240-251. EconLit, EBSCOhost (accessed June 8, 2016).

Peters, Michael A., and Richard Heraud. 2015. "Toward a Political Theory of Social Innovation: Collective Intelligence and the Co-creation of Social Goods." Journal of Self-Governance and Management Economics 3, no. 3: 7-23. EconLit, EBSCOhost (accessed June 8, 2016).

Find other articles related to the topic of social innovation, a central theme in Start Something That Matters, in the selected databases below. Note that this list is not a comprehensive list of the library's databases. To find the comprehensive list, click on the link to Electronic Databases on the WSU Libraries homepage. The truncation symbol for each database is the asterisk (*). Use quotation marks to search for phrases.

Sample keyword searches:

"social innovat*"
innovat*

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
Terms of Use
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences

Jackson, Omari. 2015. "Gov. Jones a Social Entrepreneur Providing Solutions for Social Change." Africa News Service. 30 Sept. 2015. Opposing Viewpoints in Context (accessed June 8, 2016).

White, Susan. 2015. "Passion + Service=Triple Impact." Business Case Journal no. 2: 49-63. Business Source Complete, EBSCOhost (accessed June 8, 2016).

Find other articles related to the topic of community, a central theme in Start Something That Matters, in the selected databases below. Note that this list is not a comprehensive list of the library's databases. To find the comprehensive list, click on the link to Electronic Databases on the WSU Libraries homepage. The truncation symbol for each database is the asterisk (*). Use quotation marks to search for phrases.

Sample keyword searches:

"service learning"
"communit* service"
communit* AND "social entrepreneur*"

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Terms of Use
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full text articles from journals included in several Wilson full-text databases: Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and Social Sciences. Coverage: 1982-present.
Terms of Use
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.
Terms of Use
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For Optimal Performance, use Firefox or Edge. Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use

Tips for Finding Articles in the University Libraries

Where can I find articles?
Articles can be found in the following places:

Smart Search - Use the Smart Search bar on the libraries' homepage to search for articles across the library's various resources.

Electronic Databases - The easiest way to search for articles is to choose an electronic database to search various journals and periodicals. This link provides an A-Z list of all the library's electronic databases.

Interlibrary Loan - If the libraries at WSU do not have the artilce you are looking for, you can request an interlibrary loan to borrow the publication from another institution.

How do I search the electronic databases?

Start by choosing a database. Each database contains journals, periodicals, and other materials on a specific range of information. Read the descriptions of each database to find if it is relevant to your search. Many databases relevant to the topics in Start Something That Matters have been provided in this guide.
Use keywords to search for articles on your topic. If your topic is "how social entrepreneurship and social innovation impact the community" then your keywords would be: social entrepreneurship, social innovation, community
Use AND to combine keywords in your search. For example, type the following into the search box for the previous topic: social entrepreneurship AND social innovation AND community
Use the asterisk (*) for truncation. In order to yield results for all tenses of a specific word, add the asterisk within the word. For example, to yield results for all of the words related to entrepreneur, such as entrepreneurship, entrepreneurial, or entrepreneurs, you would need to use the asterisk like this: entrepreneur*

Google Scholar
You can also find articles using Google Scholar.