LibGuides: Library Research Strategies -- OLD: Search individual article databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Steve Jurveston. (2008, May 30). Stream of Consciousness. Retrieved from https://www.flickr.com/photos/jurvetson/2542450115/ Used under the Creative Commons License.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.
Terms of Use
Readers' Guide Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts general periodicals with some full-text access. Focus on current events and curriculum support. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1994-present. Terms of Use
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.

Databases in specific fields of study

The database list above offers databases relevant to the field of engineering. If you have selected a topic that is interdisciplinary in nature, you can search databases that index literature from other fields as well. Here is a full list of the databases available at WSU, and here (under the Subject Guide dropdown menu) are guides to other fields of study, each of which will list databases relevant to that field.

Legend

= WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only

= Available to everyone

= Full text

= Some full text

= Abstract / Citation

= Index