Article databases - IME 553 - Production Systems - LibGuides at Wichita State University

Please note

These databases search both peer-reviewed literature and trade publications. You may find information on discerning between these types of articles under the Evaluating Information menu.

Engineering article databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts and some full-text articles from scholarly journals and trade publications in business and economics worldwide. Includes industry information, regional and national newspapers, and full-text access to the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1971-current.
Terms of Use
ASME Digital Collection
Provides online access to ASME's Transaction Journals back to 1960, conference proceedings back to 2002, and select ASME Press eBooks back to 1963. WSU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals, proceedings, or ebooks available in this collection.
Compendex
Citations and abstracts of articles from thousands of journals, conference proceeedings, and technical reports covering all areas of engineering. Coverage: 1969-present.
Terms of Use

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Terms of Use

Health Sciences article databases

CINAHL Complete
Provides indexing for more than 5,300 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains records dating back to 1937. It covers the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. 30 simultaneous users
Terms of Use
Cochrane Library
Collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, methods, studies, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
Terms of Use
Consumer Health Complete
Provides consumer-oriented health content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. . It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
Terms of Use

Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews (DoPHER)
Open resource that focuses on public health and effectiveness of health promotion. Database contains systematic reviews and non-systematic reviews.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (with Alternative Health Module)
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from health/medical journals, general interest periodicals, pamphlets, videos, and reference encyclopedias and directories. Also includes links to health assessment sites and government databases. Coverage: 1980-present.
Terms of Use

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Terms of Use
MEDLINE (Proquest)
Provides citations and abstracts for over 4,800 journals published worldwide in the life sciences with an emphasis on medicine and health. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Not searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings.) Coverage: 2000-present.
Terms of Use

MedNar
This is a specialized search engine that combs the Deep Web for materials that are not usually retrieved by other search engines like Google and Yahoo. MedNar is specifically aimed at medical research and searches over 300 medical databases.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Citations and abstracts of articles in more than 800 journals covering nursing, allied health, alternative medicine, etc. Full-text access to over 700 journal titles and 12,000 dissertations. Coverage: 1986-present.
Terms of Use
UpToDate
- An evidence-based resource for medical knowledge at the point of care. In addition to being an aggregation and report of the latest research; UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. It includes medical calculators, patient education materials, clinical content, and more.
  Terms of Use