Latin & Greek

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is a clear and accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity. This reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world - Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman - from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.

More than four thousand years ago, a warrior people invaded the rugged hills and fertile plains of the Balkan Peninsula. These people were the ancient Greeks, and their legacy to modern global society is immense. The Greeks invented democracy, narrative history writing, stage tragedy and comedy, philosophy, biological study, and political theory. They introduced the alphabet to European languages and they developed monumental styles of architecture still used throughout the United States for museums, courthouses, and other public buildings. They created a system of sports competitions and a cult of physical fitness, both of which we have inherited. In sculpture, they perfected the representation of the human body. In geometry, they developed theorems and terminology that are still taught in schools. They created the idea of national literature, with its recognized great writers and the libraries to preserve their work. And, perhaps what most people would think of first, the Greeks bequeathed to us their treasure trove of myths, including a hero who remains a favorite today - Hercules. "A Dictionary of the Ancient Greek World" assembles the people, places, events, and ideas of this spectacular civilization in one easy-to-use source. With over five hundred entries and more than seventy line-drawings, this essential A-Z reference covers every aspect of Greek civilization, from the beginning of Minoan civilization in the third millennium B.C. to the Roman annexation of mainland Greece in 146 B.C.

The Oxford Dictionary of Modern Greek is a compact, up-to-date dictionary suitable for general reference and language students.

This classic English-Greek vocabulary of phrases, first published in the nineteenth century, is based on the writings of Thucydides, Xenophon, Demosthenes and Plato. It is arranged by topic as follows: the world and nature; space and time; the human body; human life: its various relations; mind; arts and sciences; speech and writing; philosophy; emotions, character; virtue and vice; religion; domestic life; commerce and agriculture; the state; law and justice; military matters; naval matters; miscellany, and proverbs.

The main dictionary covers every surviving ancient Greek author and text discovered up to 1940, from the Pre-Classical Greek of the 11C - 8C BC (for example Homer and Hesiod), through Classical Greek (7C - 5C BC) to the Hellenistic Period, including the Greek Old and New Testaments. Entries list irregular inflections, and together with the definition, each sense includes citations from Greek authors illustrating usage. The Lexicon is Greek into English.

A Greek dictionaries based on colloquial usage. Includes 50,000 words and phrases.

The similes in Homer are treasure troves. They describe scenes of Greek life that are not presented in their simplest form anywhere else: landscapes and seascapes, storms and calm weather, fighting among animals, civic disputes, athletic contests, horse races, community entertainment, women involved in their daily tasks, men running their farms and orchards. In "The Artistry of the Homeric Simile," Scott explores the variations and modifications that Homer employs in order to make similes blend expressively with the larger context. This engaging study will help unlock the richness of Homer for the modern reader.

For students of classical, medieval, and early modern literature and of the history of education, Kennedy (classics emeritus, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill) presents and comments on four Greek treatises for teaching prose composition and elementary rhetoric. They were written during the time of the Roman Empire and studied throughout the Byzanti

The purpose of this book is to dispel misunderstanding about the genesis of the Homeric poems and other knotty problems in oral studies, such as the meaning of "orality," "literacy," "tradition," "memorization," and "text." The study is about the nature and history of writing--how it was used in the Ancient Near East, and especially in Greece, and its relationship to Homer.

This provides concise sections on grammar that will be of immense aid to the student who has not previously learned Latin grammar.

Greek: A History of the Language and its Speakers traces the development of this fascinating language from the Mycenaean period of the second millennium BC to the present day, combining both external and internal history into a single narrative.

To speakers of modern Greek the Homeric poems of the 7th century BC are not written in a foreign language. The Greek language has enjoyed a continuous tradition from earliest times until now. This book traces its history from the immediately post-classical or Hellenistic period to the present day. The aim is both to analyse the changing structure of a language stabilised by a peculiarly long and continuous literary tradition, and to show how changing historical circumstances are reflected in its development. In particular the historical roots of modern Greek's internal bilingualism are traced.