LibGuides: CI 503: Math for High School Teachers: Relevant Databases

Databases and Journals

A-Z Database List
For a complete list of databases the library subscribes to, please see the A-Z Database List.
Electronic Journal Portal
Use the Electronic Journal Portal to search for a specific journal. This will allow you to see the coverage dates and which databases have access.

Databases

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals, books, and yearbooks in the field of education. Full text articles from hundreds of journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1996-present.
Terms of Use
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a selection of full-text academic journals, full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Terms of Use
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to journals published by SAGE Publications in a broad range of disciplines including business, humanities, medicine, social sciences, science and technology.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index of teacher and administration trade journals, periodicals, & books. It provides coverage on topics such as assessment, best practices, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, literacy standards, school administration, teacher education, and more.
Terms of Use

ERIC is a core database for Education. There are three ways to access the ERIC database. The first two links below (EBSCO & ProQuest) go to commercial versions of the database that also give you access to the WSU Library's online journal subscriptions. The third link goes to the official, U.S. Department of Education version of ERIC, and does not offer access to the Library's subscriptions. You will be able to continue to use this version of the database when you are no longer students at WSU.

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.
Terms of Use. (ProQuest)
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.
Terms of Use
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association (APA), this is a source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Terms of Use
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Terms of Use

Finding what you need: Tips for using PsycINFO effectively
Locating and securing prior work can often feel overwhelming as there are a seemingly infinite number of publications that may be relevant to your line of research. This article aims to reduce such unpleasant feelings by providing some helpful strategies for conducting efficient and thorough literature searches.

Note: PsycTESTS contains actual test instruments, not reviews of tests like the Mental Measurements Yearbook database.

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of ready-to-use tests and measures from the APA. International in scope, this resource provides access to thousands of actual test instruments relevant to psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, medicine, business, social work and more, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. A source of structured information about tests and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.
Terms of Use

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides research in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Terms of Use
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.
Terms of Use
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to journals published by SAGE Publications in a broad range of disciplines including business, humanities, medicine, social sciences, science and technology.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print (TIP) includes test reviews and a bibliography of all commercially available tests in English. Note: it does not contain the actual tests

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership. Produced by Buros Institute, University of Nebraska. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Coverage: 1988-present. 4 simultaneous users
Terms of Use

For more detailed instructions on how to use Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, see the page on this guide: Instructions for using MMY with TIP

PsycTESTS contains actual test instruments, not reviews of tests like the Mental Measurements Yearbook database.

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of ready-to-use tests and measures from the APA. International in scope, this resource provides access to thousands of actual test instruments relevant to psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, medicine, business, social work and more, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. A source of structured information about tests and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.
Terms of Use

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 400 reference titles from over 70 publishers covering every major subject. Seamless searching of Credo Reference sources, the WSU Libraries Catalog, and other Libraries subscribed databases.
Terms of Use
Video tour of Credo Reference
eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 reference and other e-books in all subject areas purchased and shared with libraries in Kansas and eleven other states as well as a public collection of nearly 4,000 e-books that are in the public domain.
Terms of Use
Information on how to create an account, click here.
Loading PDFs works best in Chrome & Internet Explorer.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc.
Terms of Use
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text to dictionaries, reference books, and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press in a broad range of subjects: general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and Business. 4 simultaneous users.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to access CQ Press, Sage Reference Online and provides access to the following academic book collections: SAGE 2011, 2013-2014 Encyclopedia Collection, the 2011, 2013-2014 Handbook Collection and the Complete Books, Reference and Navigator Collection 2015.
Terms of Use