SPAN 611: Survey of Spanish Modern Literature

This encyclopedia draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions of the twentieth century.

An encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies. Most entries are of 1500 words but the encyclopedia also includes survey articles of up to 10,000 words on the literature of individual countries, of the colonial period, and of ethnic minorities, including the Hispanic communities in the United States.

This reference looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies. Though focusing on the literature of Spain written in Castilian, it also includes survey entries on the present state of women's literature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque.

World Literature in Spanish: An Encyclopedia contains roughly 850 entries on both major and minor authors, themes, genres, and topics of Spanish literature from the Middle Ages through the 20th Century.

Her the essays cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theatre from the early Middle Ages to the present day. The classics of the canon of eleven centuries of Spanish literature are covered, from Berceo, Cervantes and Calderón to García Lorca and Martín Gaite, but attention is also paid to lesser known writers and works.

Cultural Dictionary of Latin America

One of a series of reference volumes, each examining a cultural period of a particular nation. Culture is used in a broad sense to encompass all the ways in which a people define themselves, including a wide scope of human communication and expression, from advertising to fine art.

One of a series of reference volumes, each examining a cultural period of a particular nation. Culture is used in a broad sense to encompass all the ways in which a people define themselves, including a wide scope of human communication and expression, from advertising to fine art.

Historians face a number of challenges in interpreting the complexities of modern Spanish history. Here, Kern has included six major areas of Spanish history in this volume: political, governmental, diplomatic, institutional, cultural, social, and military. Several maps, illustrations and tables enhance the entries prepared by some seventy scholars from the United States, Canada, Britain, Spain, and Latin America.

Contains chapters on: Isabel Allende -- Jorge Amado -- Oswald de Andrade -- Reinaldo Arenas -- Mariano Brull -- Alfredo Bryce Echenique -- Joao Cabral de Melo Neto -- Lydia Cabrera -- Guillermo Cabrera Infante -- Ernesto Cardenal -- Jorge Carrera Andrade -- Fernando del Paso -- Jose Donoso -- Rosario Ferre -- Carlos Fuentes -- Gabriel Garcia Marquez -- Elena Garro -- Alberto Girri -- Felisberto Hernandez -- Ledo Ivo -- Tomas Eloy Martinez -- Augusto Monterroso -- Alvaro Mutis -- Olga Orozco -- Octavio Paz -- Ricardo Piglia -- Nelida Pinon -- Elena Poniatowska -- Jose Revueltas -- Nelson Rodrigues -- Gonzaldo Rojas -- Jaime Sabines -- Juan Jose Saer -- Antonio Skarmeta -- Mario Vargas Llosa -- Ida Vitale

Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.

Here the authors studied, born between 1867 and l966, evince an interest in one or more of the issues that structure and give unity to this book: the construction of the self, concepts of gender and nation, center and margin, and efforts to recover and/or reconstruct the past, both individual and collective. In addition to focusing on questions that are currently of great critical interest, the volume features both Castilian and Catalan authors: Josefina Aldecoa, Carmen de Burgos, Maria Aurèlia Capmany, Dulce Chacón, Lucía Etxebarria, Ana María Moix, Carme Riera, Montserrat Roig, and Mercedes Salisachs.