LibGuides: FYPH 102B: Leadership and Self Discovery: Sources at UL

Sources at University Libraries

University Libraries has LOTS of sources to help you learn more about your leadership potential. Books are useful for background information. How do others learn about their leadership potential? Learn about the changes that have been done in the past to improve our world? Books are perfect for answering these big questions.

Turn to scholarly journal articles for more in-depth information about a narrow topic, such as religious exemptions for businesses providing health care which omits options for female contraception, or how wildlife-use industries (such as marine aquariums or trophy hunting) profit from animal exploitation. Scholars often get their inspiration from news articles.

News articles are great for identifying local issues. ("Local issues" does not necessarily mean "Wichita." A local issue is any issue or problem impacting a town, city, state or region.) News articles also provide information about historical and current events. Learn more about finding news sources in the next tab.

Building Peace in America by Emily Sample (Editor); Douglas Irvin-Erickson (Editor)
Call Number: JC575 .M35 2020
ISBN: 9781538143797
Publication Date: 2020
Creative Social Change: Leadership for a Healthy World by Kathryn Goldman Schuyler (Editor); John Eric Baugher (Editor); Karin Jironet (Editor)
Call Number: HD57.7 .C735 2016
ISBN: 9781786351463
Publication Date: 2016
If We Want to Win: A Latine Vision for a New American Democracy by Diana Campoamor (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1620976803
Publication Date: 2021
Race, Work, and Leadership: New Perspectives on the Black Experience by Laura Morgan Roberts; Anthony J. Mayo; David A. Thomas
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1633698017
Publication Date: 2019

Campus Uprisings: How Student Activists and Collegiate Leaders Resist Racism and Create Hope by Ty-Ron M. O. Douglas; Kmt Shockly; Ivory Toldson
Call Number: LA229 .C278 2020
ISBN: 9780807763667
Publication Date: 2020
The Holly: Five Bullets, One Gun, and the Struggle to Save an American Neighborhood by Julian Rubinstein
Call Number: HV6439.U7 D3978 2021 (New Books Display)
ISBN: 9780374168919
Publication Date: 2021
In the Company of Rebels: A Generational Memoir of Bohemians, Deep Heads, and History Makers by Chellis Glendinning
Call Number: HN57 .G575 2019
ISBN: 9781613320952
Publication Date: 2019
Making a Difference: My Fight for Native rights and Social Justice by Ada Deer; Theda Perdue (Contribution by); Charles Wilkinson (Foreword by)
Call Number: E99.M44 D395 2019
ISBN: 9780806164274
Publication Date: 2

LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers. Terms of Use
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.
Terms of Use
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.
Women's Magazine Archive Collection 2: 1846-2015 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women’s Magazine Archive 2 features several of the most prominent, high-circulating, and long-running publications in this area, such as Woman’s Day and Town & Country. Collection 2 also, however, complements the first collection by including some titles focusing on more specific audiences and themes. Cosmopolitan and Seventeen, for example, are oriented towards a younger readership, while black women’s interests are represented by Essence. Women’s International Network News differs in being a more political, activist title, with an international dimension. Terms of Use

Reasons to use newspapers (electronic or print) and blogs and vlogs created by professional journalists or people living through an event:

See how people viewed an event when it happened
Examine issues relevant to groups or individuals in a specific location
Insights about breaking news
Multiple points of view about an issue, including a comparison of the United States and international views
Tend to be easy to read and are written for the general public

University Libraries has several news sources. Use this Newspaper library guide for more information about finding the Wichita Eagle, national newspapers, international news, and other news sources. Additional news sources are listed on the A - Z Databases page with a limiter to newspapers.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources as well as audio files from NPR and other news programs. Comprehensive and multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1980-present.
Terms of Use
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002- ), Kansas City Star (1991- ), Lawrence Journal-World (1990- ), Manhattan Mercury (1997- ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002- ) and Wichita Eagle (1984- ). Also accessible, Access World news, which is a comprehensive news collection of local, regional, national, and international topics. Terms of Use
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Terms of Use