LibGuides: FYPF 102A: Express yourself! The Exploration of Physical Communication: Mime/Physical Theatre: Finding Resources

Information Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.
Terms of Use

Wichita State University Libraries Online Catalog
Search for books, videos and other materials held by the Wichita State University Libraries.

To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/.

Instruction for Placing a Hold through the Library Catalog

Use Worldcat to find materials to borrow through interlibrary loan:

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos and more) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Coverage:1200-present. Selecting WSU custom page provides localized content from Wichita State University Libraries' collection.

Some Selected Titles:

Through the Body by Dymphna Callery
Call Number: PN2071.M6 C35 2001
ISBN: 1854596306
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
A step-by-step guide to Physical Theatre in both theory and practice - full of detailed exercises and inspiring ideas.
Physical Actor Training: What Shall I Do with the Body They Gave Me? by Andrei Droznin
Call Number: PN2071.M6 D7613 2017
ISBN: 9781138901926
This is a genuinely unique book which links theory to practice by a man who has worked at the very top of Russian theatre; a movement specialist who has taught at the Moscow Art Theatre as well as drama schools all over the world.
Rhythm in Acting and Performance by Eilon Morris
Call Number: PN2071.M6 M58 2017
ISBN: 9781472589866
Rhythm in Acting and Performance explores the meanings, mechanisms and metaphors associated with rhythm in this field, offering an overview and analysis of the ways rhythm has been, and is embodied and understood by performers, directors, educators, playwrights, designers and scholars.
FALLING Through Dance and Life by Emilyn Claid
Call Number: GV1588.5 .C53 2021
ISBN: 9781350075719
This is a book about falling as a means of reconfiguring our relationship with living and dying. Dancer, choreographer, educator and therapist, Emilyn Claid, draws inspiration from her personal and professional experiences to explore alternative approaches to being present in the world. Contemporary movement based performers ground their practices in understanding the interplay of gravity and the body. Somatic intentional falling provides them a creative resource for developing both self and environmental support. The physical, metaphorical and psychological impact of these practices informs the theories and perspectives presented in this book.
Theory for Theatre Studies: Movement by Rachel Fensham; Kim Solga (Series edited by); Susan Bennett (Series edited by)
Call Number: PN2071.M6 F46 2021
ISBN: 9781350026377
How do we define movement in performance? Who or what is being moved and how? And which movements are felt, observed, or studied, in theatre? Here is an overview of relevant critical theory for students and researchers in theatre and performance studies. Exploring areas such as vitality, plasticity, gesture, effort and rhythm, it opens up the study of theatrical production, live art, and intercultural performance to socio-political conceptions of movement as both practice and concept.
Bringing the Body to the Stage and Screen by Annette Lust
Call Number: PN2071.M6 L87 2012
ISBN: 9780810881242
To bring authenticity and believability to a character, it is vital tor actors to be aware of movement and physical acting. Stage and screen artists must call upon physical presence, movement on stage, nonverbal interactions, and gestures to fully convey themselves. Here is a program of physical and related expressive exercises that can empower your art with creativity.
All about Mime by Marayene Sheppard-Loeschke
Call Number: PN2071.G4 L56 1982
ISBN: 0130228559
This title explains the difference between mime and pantomime, describes the various styles of mime, and demonstrates movements, gestures, and routines.
Towards a Theory of Mime by Alexander Iliev
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781317911579
Towards a Theory of Mime is a genuinely unique book about non-verbal communication and performance. Combining a broad global history of the evolution of human communication with an introduction to the general practice of mime, Alexander Iliev traces a lineage from Marceau and Barrault to his own distinguished practice as performer and teacher.

Wichita Eagle Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital access to the Wichita Eagle from 1984 to present, Wichita Eagle images from 2018 to present and Wichita Eagle Blogs from 2005-present. Terms of Use
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database which allows searching of more than 1,000 newspapers by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
Terms of Use
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Terms of Use
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002- ), Kansas City Star (1991- ), Lawrence Journal-World (1990- ), Manhattan Mercury (1997- ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002- ) and Wichita Eagle (1984- ). Also accessible, Access World news, which is a comprehensive news collection of local, regional, national, and international topics. Terms of Use

New York Times
Full-text access from 1980 to the present through the Wichita State University Libraries.
50States.com
Links ot U.S. newspapers
Newspapers.com
Newspapers from the 1700s–2000s; over 1800 newspapers across the US. Need subscription to access full-text. Historical in scope.

Wichita State University Libraries Catalog
Search for Online Videos and DVDs in the Library Catalog

To find DVDs to check out, or to reserve in advance for later check out (place a hold) use the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/. Refer to the instructions here to place a hold/reserve a video to check out:

You may place requests for materials at any time and they will be paged every two hours during our hours of operation. We will notify you via email when your holds are ready. Please note that holds placed for items at the McKinley Chemistry Library and Thurlow Lieurance Music Library will take longer to retrieve.

To pick up your holds, please stop at the Circulation Desk in Ablah Library. Your materials will be held in a locker adjacent to the desk. Upon showing your Shocker ID card, Libraries staff will provide you the information needed to retrieve your materials. The process in place is designed to provide contactless checkout of your materials.

Note: If you are working or attending courses remotely and need to have materials mailed to you, contact Interlibrary Loan. We will mail items to you as needed. You are responsible for returning the items via mail.

Instructions for placing a hold using the Libraries' online catalog.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive video collection that delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. It includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. It has award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Terms of Use
60 Minutes: 1997-2014, American History in Video, Art and Architecture in Video, Asian Film Online (Volumes * & II), Black Studies in Video, Business Education in Video, Classical Music in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III), Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Current Affairs in Video, Dance in Video (Volumes I & II), Education in Video (Volumes I & II), Environmental Studies in Video, Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I-III), Fashion STudies Online, Filmakers Library Online (Volumes I-III), Health and Society in Video, Latin American in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, The March of Time, Meet the Press, new World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Opera in Video, BBC Video Collection, PBS Video Collect (2nd Ed), Silent Film Online, Theatre in Video (Volumes I & II), Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy, World History in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 500 hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2012
Terms of Use
ASP Video Tutorials
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Includes the Master Academic Collection and the FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection.
Terms of Use
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform for a multitude of subject areas: Gender, Race & Diversity; the Humanities; Business; Science; Health; the Arts; Teacher Education; and Communications. In addition to the videos the University Libraries has subscribed to, a preview of other videos are available.
Terms of Use
Flash is required to play the videos on a PC. Videos can also be played on all iPads, iPhones and other mobile devices.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming movie service providing box-office hits, independent features, documentaries, international movies, and classics.